We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete tourist rip-off”

Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia
Ranked #6 of 52 things to do in Manizales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Betwen Medellin and Salento Located 20 minutes away from manizales, Hacienda Venecia is a working coffee farm with the intention of providing an educational and informative experience of both the coffee making process as well as coffee farm life. Whilst sharing our coffee knowledge it is important and valuable for the local community to be inspired by the worldwide experiences your visit brings. Also we offer accomodation in a Hostel, Guest House and in Main House fiting all bugets, with meals and open kitchen, swimming pool, Coffee book library, WIFI, hammocks, games, honesty bar, perfect place for hiking in coffee plantations.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Complete tourist rip-off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The tour costs 45.000 Pesos, excluding lunch. You get picked up at your hotel/hostal and after 25 minutes you reach the Hacienda. The place itself is quite nice. The coffee tour is ok but not worth so much money. The guide on the hacienda explains a bit about coffee and its origins, you get to drink coffee. There is no real coffee tasting, where you can actually get to taste the differences. After about an hour of talking you get shown around on the fields and you get to see the machines they use. The tour is over and you can get lunch for 12.000 Pesos. The food is very little, almost everyone on our tour was still hungry afterwards. We decided to stay overnight and the rooms are really nice, but dinner costs again 12000 Pesos and this time they cooked so little, that everyone was again hungry. Also it was just rice with a little bit of chicken. Next morning we had the breakfast which was included. It was a little bit of toast, cheese and Arepas with mantequilla. Fun thing also to know is that when you stay overnight the transport back to Manizales is not included anymore and you will be charged extra, even though you paid at least 24.000 for food, more than 30.000 for the night, 45.000 for the tour and maybe even more for some beers and souvenirs. If you just do the tour in one day the transfer back is included in the 45.000. This means:If you pay more, you get less. Awesome concept! There are plenty of other and better haciendas close to Salento. My advise: skip hacienda venecia and go somewhere else.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nils K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are extremely sorry to hear that your visit to Hacienda Venecia did not meet with your expectations. As a result of your feedback we have totally reviewed our menu, and the quantity of food we serve. We greatly appreciate feedback from our visitors as it helps us to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    46
    9
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coffee-tastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The highlight of my trip to Manizales. Very well organised; I reserved a place the day before and they picked me up from my hotel in Manizales (included in the price). We then had a very informative talk (English speaking guide from South Africa) and tour of the plantation and 'factory area'. It is a real life working farm and we saw trucks loading up and pickers going out to work while we were there, plus we got to chat to the boss.

I learned a huge amount about types of coffee,how it is grown traded and sold. Plus the plantation itself is very picturesque and you really get to walk around the place properly. Lunch afterwards was very good and traditional and you can use their swimming pool afterwards. Total cost was COP60,000 including transport, tour, lunch and a beer. We'll worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank londoner_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
387 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The coffee tour is very interesting and teaches you all about not only the Colombian coffee traditions but how the world coffee market works. The plantation itself is a step back in time. Worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We really appreciate your comments, thank you very much indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great information”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

With the help of our hotel we booked a tour at 9.00am, the hacienda sent a taxi for us which arrived at 9.39 am and we were at the hacienda by 10am! Others arrived for the tour which started with a cup of their grade a coffee - delicious. The guide spoke excellent English and started with the history of coffee, the history of coffee in Colombia and where it was grown. We walked through a part of the plantation, learning more about the plants and their cultivation and ended back at one of the hostels for a simple but tasty lunch and a swim in the pool. Thank you Hacienda Venecia for an amazing visit. So well done.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xochitlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Coffee tour & a nights stay in the hostel.....fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the hostel but if you have time i would recommend staying 2. The coffee tour starts at 9:30 & goes for roughly 3 hours. The guide is very informative & it definitely gave me a new appreciation for the work behind my daily cup...or 3!!
The only criticism i have of the tour itself is that we had quite a large group...all english speakers & 3 spanish speakers. the guide did a very good job but he had no choice but to repeat the tour in both spanish & english which made it drag on a bit.
We stayed at the hostel & the food & staff were fantastic. If you have a bit more cash though i would definitely have preferred to stay in the 'main house' for a bit more luxury. We may return one day to do just that!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MRudd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your comments. We understand fully your frustration with regards to the English and the Spanish speaking on the same tour. It is most unusual for this to happen as we offer two tours, one in the morning that is in English and one in the afternoon that is in Spanish. We hope you decide to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia also viewed

Manizales, Caldas Department
Manizales, Caldas Department
 
Manizales, Caldas Department
Manizales, Caldas Department
 

Been to Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing