We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, a bit dangerous in the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estelar Las Colinas
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Manizales
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well located, a bit dangerous in the night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

The hotel is made for business people. So you will see the location, the service, all. Including the price for the offered room. A bit expensive I would have to say. Manizales is not very touristic and in approximatelly 2 days max you could see all the city attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    45
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
13
29
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Location is the only slight negative. It is located in central Manizales so at night many stores are closed and while the night life is interesting to watch, it does not give you the impression of being very safe. You will be approached by beggars multiple times regardless if you are inside a business. There is a strong and active police presence. For better night life grab a cab for $5 and head to Cable Plaza.

During the day it is a different environment, bustling with people, plenty of restaurants and shopping, and is only a two minute walk from the gothic church.

Besides location, the staff are friendly, wi-fi is good, clean rooms, nice showers, and a nice buffet style free breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Feenstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I decided to stay here for our first year anniversary. We live in Medellin and wanted to see the coffee region and stay in a nice hotel; we were very disappointed with our choice in hotel. We splurged on the superior room which was supposed to be the nicest room; which it was not.
1. Noise from the elevator! It was directly next to the elevator (as all the superior rooms are) which made it really noisy from traffic. It was made the bathroom shake every time the elevator changed floors.
2. No Air-conditioner! We read on their website that it had an aircon and as we have lived without one for so long it is one thing that we were really looking forward to. Unfortunately we found out that they actually did not have one. Along with the loud traffic from the streets outside and inside as well as the heat from the apartment we did not get much sleep.
3. Broken amenities! Later I tried out the bathtub and looking forward to a nice warm bath found out that the plug on the tub did not work. I also found that the hair dryer did not work adn the bed was not nailed to the headboard so it rolled.
4. Bad location! We also thought that the hotel was in an area that we could find restaurants but it was not and we spent a lot of money on taxis just to go somewhere to eat.

So overall the hotel was disappointment after disappointment and was definitely not worth the money. After a while we just had to laugh at everything that went wrong!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manizales hotels

Tasmania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel was as you would want & expect, but the service & helpfulness of the staff was exceptional. The staff at reception went out of their way to help us with our requirements, and ongoing travel arrangements. And the man who initially took our bags up to our room took the time to show us the room, give us a map, give us some information about the town, give us the password for the wifi, advising us that breakfast was included in the price, and letting us know where the dining room was, etc. He was the most helpful person in introducing us to the hotel & the room that I have ever come across. I am usually sceptical of reviews of hotels that refer to the friendly staff, and not the facilities themselves, but as I say the hotel was just fine (with really good, fast wifi in the room), but the staff were well above what I expect. The breakfast & dining room food generally was hotel/institutional food. The location was excellent for exploring the older part of town (main square, cathedral etc), but the cafes, restaurants (and bars) are a short taxi ride away.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, then ask for one facing away from the main street. We enjoyed the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattlebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genova
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

I stayed 3 days in this hotel and I think It 's a bargain. The room was great, clean and There was all that there is expected in a 4-star hotel in Europe. The staff was very helpful
and friendly. The breakfast was ok. The hotel is located in "historic" Manizales, but the true center (the one where there is nightlife) is somewhere else and need to take a taxi (but it was very cheap).
However, the hotel has an excellent quality / price ratio and the area where you will find is beautiful.
I think the hotel has opened a branch in the new center (but do not know if it costs a little like this).
Manizales is very lively and beautiful as its surroundings, and I suggest this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gio74Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Hotel Estelar Las Colinas, responded to this review, 15 December 2010
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Estelar Las Colinas. We are so glad to hear that the hotel exceeded your expectations and you had a pleasant stay with us. We look very forward to welcoming you back for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We decided to stay at this hotel after 2 sleepless nights. Upon check in we requested a room far in a dungeon as possible to ensure silence from traffic, ect.
The room was nice enough. We had wifi included for 2 hours only. Per day. With a special code given by the front desk.
We walked around looking for a place to eat, we wandered far, about 10 blocks away at night and felt safe. The street behind the hotel at night seemed busier than our street so we walked on that street.
Could not sleep due to the noise from the T.V. in the room next to us blaring on a Tuesday night past midnight. I called the front desk and demanded that they make the noise disappear. Minutes later, a door opens and closes, and the tv lowers than raises up and I hear a cacophony of voices...I waited.
Sometime later I called the front desk after staring at the ceiling for a bit listening to the noise and informed them that I wanted to change rooms, immediately.
They sent up a valet with a cart and we moved all of our things and my sleepwalking husband to a new floor totally unoccupied (as told to me by the valet).
In the morning, after our so-so breakfast, I went to meet with the manager. I asked him why hadn't he (meaning the hotel staff ) just put us on the unoccupied floor to begin with since we'd asked for a nice quiet space to sleep in in the first place-then I politely informed him we'd not be staying another night. He apologized profusely and said we could check out anytime during the day-there would be no rush for us to leave.To his credit he was very nice and gave me a map, even tried to make some calls inquiring about a tour I was interested in.
Nice enough hotel, breakfast was juices and croissants with jam and eggs, potato w/meat...and some breads..
At this price and with how tired we arrived, and the moving disaster we'd never stay here again, or recommend it to anyone. There are several perfectly decent hotels in the same area, and cheaper. Or, you can stay on the outskirts of town if you are doing a coffee plantation tour .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Estelar, E-commerce Manager at Hotel Estelar Las Colinas, responded to this review, 7 September 2009
Dear Guest,

Hoteles Estelar would like to convey to you our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during you stay at our Hotel Estelar Las Colinas. Unfortunately, the rooms next to you caused some noise that perturbed you stay and we were unable to provide you from the beginning the quiet space you requested. It is our duty to learn from mistakes and we are taking very seriously any request from our guest at the front desk during the check in process. Let us assure you that what happened in your case is not typical of our level of customer service. We continue to be committed to providing all our customers with the highest standards of service in the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manizales hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#1 of 12 in Manizales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carretero
Hotel Carretero
#2 of 12 in Manizales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Escorial Manizales
Hotel Escorial Manizales
#6 of 12 in Manizales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Varuna Hotel
Varuna Hotel
#4 of 12 in Manizales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hoteles Portico Galeria & Cava
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amaru
Hotel Amaru
#10 of 12 in Manizales
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estelar Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Estelar Las Colinas
Address: Transversal72 22 # 20-20, Manizales 170003, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Caldas Department > Manizales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Manizales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Estelar Las Colinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the coffee region. Located in downtown Manizales, Estelar Las Colinas is the best choice for business or pleasure in Manizales with top hospitality services. An opportunity to tour the Colombian coffee region while experiencing its climates and landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Estelar Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing