We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scones Worth The Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Margate Train

Margate Train
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scones Worth The Wait”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Called in here on our way back to Hobart. Checked out the Antique Shop and found a lovely Huon Pine chopping board for a good price. Decided to stay for Scones and a homemade sausage roll both were very good although we had to wait for the scones to be baked but they were worth it. Unique setting sitting in the train well worth a stop. The Lolly shop was good as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    40
    17
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glendevie, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

stopped for lunch
really great little spot to have a coffee and quick bite
If your traveling through tasmania south this is a spot to have a look at

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to spend some time”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great place with lots of different attractions. You can spend hours at the 2nd hand/ antique shop at the far end, or indulge at the Pancake Train Cafe, or stock up with European specialties - hard to find elsewhere. A great place for a day or just a stop-over

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank downunder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have been meaning to go to the Pancake Train for ages.
We finally went and I was a bit disappointed to see the prices. But I thought it was something different and was happy to pay.
Unfortunately the service was far from friendly.
When the meals arrived we were very disappointed. The meals were absolutely tiny! We all walked away hungry after spending a lot of money.
I'm afraid I won't be recommencing it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedBeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Agree, great pancakes and coffee.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We ventured upon the Margate Train, we needed a coffee and thought we’ve passed it many times, why not have a look this time. To our surprise we ended up in the Pancake Carriage, and having a pancake each, me a cup of coffee, and the wife a milkshake. I can report we both enjoyed our pancakes, the wife’s being a sweet one and mine savoury. The coffee, milkshake and service were also very good, worth a look when passing.

Also worth having a look at the other carriages, and the brick a brack store down the far end.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margate Train also viewed

 
Margate, Greater Hobart
Margate, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Margate Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing