We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A worthwhile visit”

Inverawe Native Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$181.79*
and up
Hobart Flora and Fauna Tour Including the Royal Botanical Gardens
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Margate
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tasmania's largest landscaped Native garden winds around the shores of North West Bay. Inverawe enjoys stunning views and contains over 7000 Australian and Tasmanian native plants. There is always something in bloom in this sustainable, low chemical use, waterwise garden. Interpretive signs enhance the experience. Bird watchers have spotted 84 species at Inverawe, including all 12 endemics. Open seven days a week, September through May, other times by arrangement.
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A worthwhile visit”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely to wander around these gardens that have been created by the owners over several years of painstaking work. They met us at the entrance, explained the history and the layout of the gardens and left us to wander the paths. A must for anyone interested in native plants. The garden is a work in progress and we were delighted that they share their knowledge, enthusiasm and love of native plants and birds with the public. A really worthwhile visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    0
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowooomba
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“.”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

just loved the whole experience.the breakfast was yummy, hosts were pleasant,helpful in every way. the garden tracks were great with seating and themed items along the way, the view breathtaking. birdwathcing was great with Bill's comentary. we loved trying to find the many differing species!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalla
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A testament to effort and vision”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This private native garden is only 20 minutes out of Hobart, and is well worth a visit from anyone who has an interest in native gardens. We visited in January 2013, when SE Tassie is in the grips of a significant drought, and this did impact on the health, survival and floral display, but don't let this deter you. The views are excellent, the garden design is thoughtful, quirky and extremely well executed, and those that know their gardening will recognise the supreme long-term effort that has been put in to get this garden to this standard. The owners are to be congratulated on what they have achieved.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DidsterBenalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

If you're interested in native plants and irds, this is the place for you. Hundreds of different plants, 94 bird species, and spectacular views. The owners are charming and introduce you to their wonderful property. We had tea on the terrace after walking around the 20 acres - a haven with birds everywhere. Come and see for yourself!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixiefairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnetic Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Having read about Inverawe we dropped in along the way of our scenic drive along the South East coast. We didn't really know anything about it, and we found a delightful surprise nestled in a beautiful part of Tasmania. What an inspirational garden, thanks to Margaret and Bill for sharing such a wonderful spot with us, and congratulations on the transformation you have wrought with buckets of "retirement" sweat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylez67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inverawe Native Gardens also viewed

Margate, Greater Hobart
 
Margate, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Inverawe Native Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing