We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An okay room, but poor value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Thames Motel
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An okay room, but poor value for money.”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

While the room I was allocated was spacious and comfortable, I thought that the tariff of NZ$125 per night (room only) was excessive in comparison with similar properties that I recently made use of in New Zealand. The car parking space is tight. The motel is located at one end of the town, so you need to drive (or walk a fairly long way) to avail of eating and drinking establishments. I didn't find anything very impressive in the way of food and drink establishments in Thames. Sadly, a disappointing visit.This place is acceptable but, in my opinion, represents poor value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprintlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The lady at reception was very friendly & helpful, the room had a bedroom with two single beds, a queen-sized bed and another single bed in the main area, a kitchenette and a dining table. Being from the industry ( I am a hotel receptionist ) I know when a room has been taken good care of in the past, and this room was just immaculate! The building from the outside looks a bit dated, so we were a bit wary, but DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY THE COVER, and don't judge the AVALON MOTEL by the outside of the building, you will miss out on great, great accomodation if you do so.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed for three nights over Christmas, as a family 2 adults and 2 children.
The unit was very clean and tidy, the staff were very friendly, gave us a map information on things to do.
The only downside was as its a older Motel there was a bit of traffic noise, but nothing to major.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carollop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed at this motel for one night and found it to be better than anticipated. It was very clean and very modern. Great value for money and the free wifi makes it even better. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juzzer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Just quite dated.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

My husband and I were travelling throughout New Zealand, from Canada, on a three-week vacation in January 2011.
We arrived in Thames, later in the evening on a Sunday night of a national holiday. Little did we know there would be no rooms to be had. We came across the Avalon Motel and we VERY happy we had. Luckily, Bruce and Raewyn were still up and the office was still open. They were very friendly and we got the room just opposite the office, by the driveway. It's a small cottage all on its own and not connected to the rest of the motel. What a fantastic room. Very big, with an indoor hot tub in a separate room. We didn't use the hot tub, but we did sit outside on the small patio. It is very close to the highway, but traffic and city noise don't bother us, so we were fine with that.
It is a little ways out of the town of Thames, but not a very far drive. There is a computer in the lobby/office area, free for customer use.

We were only there for one night, but would recommend this motel for anyone who is going to be in Thames, or like us, just passing through.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OConnorGoldwingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had indicated to Raewyn that we would be arriving early and asked to leave our bags.
I couldn't believe that she had our room ready after having a full house the night before!
They even offered to drop us to the racecourse up the road.
Excellent customer service - very friendly. Cute little cotton ball dogs for entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel Peninsula hotels
0.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 13 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shortland Court Motel
Shortland Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Thames Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Thames Motel

Property: Avalon Thames Motel
Address: 104 Jellicoe Crescent, | PO Box 539, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Coromandel Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Thames Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Thames Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing