We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in a standard motel room in a lovely bush setting, the hosts were very helpful and friendly, the room was modern and clean except for the spiders and cobwebs around the ceiling. We feel there should have been a bed linen change during our 4 night stay. A short walk to town and the Driving Creek Railway is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugs269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed 3 nights at Anchor Lodge in Coromandel in November and really, really enjoyed it. Staff were friendly and helpful and it had a very easy-going atmosphere.
It is set in a lovely bush setting and very close to town.
I stayed in a private room in the backpacker part, which was adequately serviced, complete with TV/DVD player, comfy lounge seat, shared deck outside and little table with chair for eating or reading. Internet very accessible in hallway next door and worked well.
Plenty of parking space.
The only thing that might be of concern is the noise, with not much sound-proofing between rooms and the communal eating facility very close by. This didn't bother me as I am used to living around noisy living areas.
But if you are after peace and quiet I suggest you book one of the motel rooms with are set back into the bush escarpment and are beautifully located.
The big attraction for me was the hot spa, which was ACTUALLY decently hot, not luke warm as I have experienced in other places. Along with the slightly heated swimming pool it was really a treat and all very clean. Although the swimming pool is very short (not suitable for long swims), it was enough to have a bit of excercise.
Great spot to explore the Coromandel Peninsula from, great to to out and about and come home to soak in the hot spa after dinner.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My wife and i stayed at Anchor Lodge for originally three nights but we extended our stay by another night because the place was so chilled. There is the backpackers as well as the apartments so it is really easy to socialise if that is your thing or just keep to yourself and relax.

It's only a short walk to a great Bakery and a couple of Pubs. We went fishing with Soprano's Fishing Charters at Anchor Lodge's recommendation and had GREAT SUCCESS!

Would recommend this place to stay as well as Coromandel Town for just chilling out and seeing the sights with great rooms and friendly staff.

Cheers

Brett

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brett_grocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed one night at this Motel, recently - Host was very helpful and friendly - rooms fairly new- all clean and tidy - everything we needed. Plenty of parking and open views across reserve area We ate at a restaurant the host recommended and that was a good choice. Just a short walk into town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lita-Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Arrived and was fine had booked a female room then after the reception was closed there were men in there. According to hostel world i paid more for the priviledge. The bunk above me had a crack in it and both the person above and me were really worried it would come down as it was nearly at breaking point when she led on it. I went to reception and they didnt apologise just said no more beds so get over it. So i did woke up today with bites all over me as people are allowed to use their sleeping bags??? Am leaving today no real apology, no refund of the difference and the genearl attitude of the staff was 'couldnt care less' If the bed had come down on me lastnight with the girl on top i could have been seriously hurt but apparently thats of no importance.

Room Tip: dont stya in the 2 dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Brennie, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

There are few times in business when forums like this can be mistreated and people with a "chip" on their shoulder can write as many lies as they like. I do not like responses to guest comments, unless they are totally untrue and need commenting on. In response to this writer's comments, we do not have bed bugs in our backpacker lodge, nor are the beds broken. And, as can be seen from all the other guest's comments, our customer service is what brings people back to Anchor Lodge, whether it is in the backpacker lodge section, or in the motel complex.

This particular guest arrived for a 4 day stay. After 1 day we received several complaints from guests about her behaviour in the backpacker lodge. Due to the complaints she was asked, then told by a female staff member that she had to leave immediately. Her behaviour was quite irrational, to the point that we contacted the other backpacker lodges in town and warned them not to accept her as a guest. Unfortunately life brings us these challenges, but the great reviews we get make all the worth while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We made a booking after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor. What a great place! We stayed 3 nights, but would have loved to stayed longer. The room was set up in the bush with a view over the harbour. The decor in the room was beautiful, we had a kitchen and lounge chairs and large LCD TV. The hosts were lovely and supplied us with lots of information on things to do around Coromandel. We also had a beautiful dinner at the Thai restaurant in town (recommended). We definitely recommend staying at this place.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms had a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Top Spot, comfortable room, friendly crew, lots of things to do in area, short walk into town for pubs/food/restaurants etc. Hope to return...........................

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: £33 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing