We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
North Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a spa unit which was a studio type unit with a full kitchen area and small dining area. The whole place is immaculately presented and staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was reasonably large but had an extra single bed which took up quite a bit of space. The kitchen has everything you need. Only problem was there wasn't anywhere to sit and relax other than the bed and the smoke alarm went off every time we made toast (I don't have very toasted toast!). There's a walking track right nearby and it's a good spot to explore from. There's a very nice little pool/bar/spa area although not sure that it was open when we were there. Would stay there again but would probably get a bigger room and skip getting the spa bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_IandDr_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    116
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
76
156
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I had a very wonderful stay at Anchor Lodge Hotel. The facility and staffs are the nicest. My husband and I are looking forward to coming back with some of the relatives who haven't been there yet. The experience was amazing!! We were able to sleep very well especially the kids... I miss the our room already!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queren2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I had a perfect holiday. Family unit was so clean and spacious. Great place for a family with stunning views that kids requesting to go back soon. The staff were so friendly. Highly recommended to all!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JilleJillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We booked this 2 bedroom spa apartment for our family for 2 nights and found it very comfortable and clean. While no washing machine in the apartment there were coin operated washers and dryers which is always a bonus when you're travelling. Staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This Lodge / Backpackers has Great beds, Clean modern kitchen facilities, Showers with great pressure plus they are nice and warm, Free Mountain Bike Hire, Great Staff, Positive Attitudes and helpful - no complaint here +++

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in the backpackers part of this hotel for the night whilst passing through the Coromandel. We had a double room that although was on the smaller side, it was good. It even had a tv in the room, which was awesome. The facilities were good, kitchen was good and the bathrooms were clean. In a good location, short distance from town and the waterfront, good value for money so altogether a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We loved this place. The gardens amazing as is the accommodation itself. What a surprise in coromandel town. Hosts were great. We stayed in a family deluxe suite and it was perfect for our three kids and two adults. We will definitely be back. This time in summer so we can enjoy the pool and amazing surroundings. Thanks for being such an unexpected highlight to our trip to the coromandel!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytrippers002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
241 reviews
12.7 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Property: Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing