We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best and homely place in coromandel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Anchor lodge is a lovely and peaceful place to stay in coromandel especially the services the cottage we stayed in was very lovely and felt homely and kids like it to especially in the outside views I like it we will return for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anurohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Lodge Coromandel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Not much to say as it was a fairly standard room of reasonable quality as you'd expect from a place fairly highly rated on TripAdvisor. Nothing amazing though. Seemed pretty quiet as it's just outside the town centre. Got the sense the walls might have been a bit thin.

There was a bit of a room mixup which ended up with me in a room not meant to have been allocated to me, just a small admin error which wasn't any problem at the time.

Didn't receive breakfast in the morning - I was part of a tour group and I think I forgot to tick one of the boxes about what time I'd like breakfast. Nevertheless I'd have hoped that someone would have quickly worked out I was part of the tour group and ensured it turned up on time - or contacted me the night before about my preferred time if I indeed forgot to indicate on the breakfast form. Perhaps the initial room mix up somehow contributed to things not working out for breakfast.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the luxury spa suite, fantastic accommodation. Really comfortable and well equipped. Spa bath lovely! Clean rooms (although the ledges need a bit of a dust!) Only a short walk into town where there were several takeaways and places to eat. Nice scenic 360 lookout 20 minutes up the hill at the back of the property. Owner was really friendly and helpful. Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place is a little gem. We stayed here for 3 nights in a really beautiful harbour view suite that was clean with a good sized balcony where we watched the sunset. Our room had a nice big flat screen tv, the shower had heaps of pressure. I can't fault this place at all. Just a shame we were at the end of our holiday and couldn't stay longer! But we intend to come back to this area next year. Top marks.

Room Tip: The harbour view suites are very nice
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Upon our arrival we were checked in by a lovely young girl, shown to our room, which was a wonderful loft apartment, beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Had a wonderful stay here, hope to return one day.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at this motel for 2 nights, unfortunately during a storm which caused a power outage. Luckily we found a small torch in our car as there were no candles or torches in the unit for such an occasion. The owners never checked to ensure guests were catered for during this time. We booked a luxury suite, however there were no comfortable chairs to relax in, just a queen bed and single, one table & 2 chairs. We do not enjoy lounging in the bedroom while watching TV or eating. A spa bath but a had a terrible smell in the bathroom while in operation. The unit was clean & serviced on the second day, however very sloppy as the sheet was just folded over the bedspread with no straightening or tucking in from the previous night. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Firstly, it's disappointing that you've chosen to write a review like this and not talk about these issues with us at the time, you did stay 2 nights and could have easily bought any concerns to our attention after staying the 1st night. We have 25 rooms and we would have happily moved you to another one.You did inspect this room before you decided to stay so you were aware of the room layout of beds and chairs. Unfortunately yes the power did go out for about 1 hour, obviously beyond our control and luckily it doesn't happen often. We avoid putting candles in our rooms because of the risk of fire, you're correct, we should have a enough torches on hand in the event of a power cut which we will get on to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Family of 6 stayed here for a night as we travelled around the Coromandel Peninsula. Coped with only one bathroom and toilet as only one night. Had two tv's which we do like with 4 children. Unit was compact but very user friendly and modern. Only one separate bedroom(Master with tv) with extra queen bed on mezzanine and two singles in lounge. Didnt use the pool area but looked great. We did take the bikes for a ride around the bays which was fun. There was a very funky artificial light 'tree' outside which we all loved. Look forward to another stay here again some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
502 reviews
12.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: £30 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing