We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay right by the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Small lovely motel across from the water. Rooms were clean and very nice and modern with high ceilings. Small kitchen in the room, very comfortable beds, and deck looking toward the water. Staff was very helpful. Entire property was clean and neat, very well maintained with lots of plantings.

Room Tip: upstairs for better view,but all rooms look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival the place looked lovely. We were pleased with our room and service. They did a breakfast in bed option which looked delicious. However, in the middle of the night, there was aloud knock at the door. We were woken up on our relaxing holiday to a man quite rudely accusing us of having a dog input room! When we said... Um... No... He didn't seem convinced and seemed very hostile. We said he could search our room but he said no and went away. This was very late - gone midnight. In the morning, the breakfast was awful. Tinned fruit salad, dry breakfast, served with a yogurt that looked like it had been pulled out of a child's lunch box! Very misleading on the menu. When we checked out the following morning we explained we were unhappy with the dog incident. He seemed unconcerned, changed his story to a staff member complaining,and said as long as we didn't have one it was FINE. Well it's not fine because it ruined our stay, and an apology would have possibly fixed that. Won't be going back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

That is quite an inaccurate story of what actually happened. These people phoned and asked if they could bring their dog. I said no because we absolutely do not take dogs here. I had 1 staff member walk past their unit and 1 customer next to their unit tell me that they could hear a dog barking. Naturally I went and knocked on the door and asked them if they had a dog with them. Was certainly not "hostile" and certainly did not "wake them up" because their light was on and the tv was on. It was also 10pm not "midnight" I don't mind people doing fair and reasonable reviews but this is far from one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Facilities were clean and cozy. Hostel kitchen was well supplied. Booked a private room in the hostel, only downside is it was REALLY small. Only room for the bed and tiny space to put belongings and get in and out the door. No room to stretch at all. Staff were friendly and helpful and the place has a great atmosphere and is a 5 minute walk into town. Would book again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Shae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Anchor lodge is a lovely and peaceful place to stay in coromandel especially the services the cottage we stayed in was very lovely and felt homely and kids like it to especially in the outside views I like it we will return for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anurohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Not much to say as it was a fairly standard room of reasonable quality as you'd expect from a place fairly highly rated on TripAdvisor. Nothing amazing though. Seemed pretty quiet as it's just outside the town centre. Got the sense the walls might have been a bit thin.

There was a bit of a room mixup which ended up with me in a room not meant to have been allocated to me, just a small admin error which wasn't any problem at the time.

Didn't receive breakfast in the morning - I was part of a tour group and I think I forgot to tick one of the boxes about what time I'd like breakfast. Nevertheless I'd have hoped that someone would have quickly worked out I was part of the tour group and ensured it turned up on time - or contacted me the night before about my preferred time if I indeed forgot to indicate on the breakfast form. Perhaps the initial room mix up somehow contributed to things not working out for breakfast.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the luxury spa suite, fantastic accommodation. Really comfortable and well equipped. Spa bath lovely! Clean rooms (although the ledges need a bit of a dust!) Only a short walk into town where there were several takeaways and places to eat. Nice scenic 360 lookout 20 minutes up the hill at the back of the property. Owner was really friendly and helpful. Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place is a little gem. We stayed here for 3 nights in a really beautiful harbour view suite that was clean with a good sized balcony where we watched the sunset. Our room had a nice big flat screen tv, the shower had heaps of pressure. I can't fault this place at all. Just a shame we were at the end of our holiday and couldn't stay longer! But we intend to come back to this area next year. Top marks.

Room Tip: The harbour view suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: £31 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing