We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coromandel Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our two night stay here was never going to be anywhere near long enough. Excellent two storey, two bedroom, two bathroom self contained chalet was impossible to fault. Well equipped, well maintained, spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds (why other places so often have to choose such hard beds!) and a lovely outlook to the harbour and easy walking distance to town makes this place hard to fault.

Thoroughly recommended. Try to get a harbour view although it looks like most rooms would have a view of some kind. Will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muznkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Wonderful place to stay!! Very friendly, helpful staff and clean, comfortable room in a great location.Close to plenty of nice eating places of different options and close to some picturesque walks. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizacoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Anchor Lodge whilst visiting the Coromandel Peninsula, the rooms are a really well equipped with fridge, microwave, crockery plates and cutlery. BBQ also available and our balcony over looked the estuary, lovely to sit & relax after a busy day exploring the Peninsula .
There is also a heated plunge pool & spa.
The local bush walks which are easily reached from the lodge, give access to varied nature and views across the Peninsula which are stunning.

Room Tip: First floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Got messed around by the Motel up the road with the booking (their mistake) and had to find somewhere else for 2 nights for 2 couples on our NZ holiday. Called into Anchor Lodge and the service was fantastic. Booked us into a family unit which was modern, clean and comfortable with all the facilities you could wish for. The location is close to town but quiet with a lovely park and the bay across the road. The staff were always helpful and wanted to do everything to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons. The pictures and description of the Lodge are accurate, which is not the case with the other Motel up the road (with Harbour views) which seems to get higher ratings. I don't why that is because Anchor Lodge beats it in every aspect. Singles, couples, families, looking for quality and value should make this their first choice in Coromandel.

Room Tip: Make this your first choice in Coromandel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkAussie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I with my family enjoied 2 nights before Christmast in the luxury spa house: modern, roomy, confortable, clean and with a good range of appliances. The pool is so small but ok for the children. Among the resort facilities there are 3 gas fired Bbq available ! We had a sunny cool stay here... hope to come back !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Manuel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My love affair with the Coromandel Peninsula started with love at first sight to its scenic views made intense with longing for its quaint towns and epicurean offerings. But what made this beloved place perfect for travel-weary-shoestring-backpackers like me are places like Anchor Lodge. I was so impressed that I have stayed with Anchor Lodge thrice! It is great value for money whether I'm in a backpacker or double room as it offers a small pool/jacuzzi as well as maintained a quiet, tidy and clean accommodation. Anchor Lodge exudes a warm family and friendly atmosphere among its multicultural staff and guests so much so that I have remained friends with those I met there. It is just a short walk from town so everything is accessible especially the Corosmoke Co. and Pepper Tree Restaurant. To my constant delight, I always get dropped off and picked up by the bus right at its doorstep. When I am in Coromandel Town, Anchor Lodge is my happy place. Make it yours too!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy and time in the shower and toilet at the backpackers' lodge, ask the Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaValencia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I were impressed with 4 star accommodation at reasonable rates. First impressions count and we were thrilled to have a place to stay in that offered a spa pool and swimming pool in a peaceful tranquil setting. Most important is the fact that you are only a 5min walk to some excellent coffee shops!! The staff were very helpful

Room Tip: As there are a variety of room options, make sure you let the staff know what your needs are when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHanna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
254 reviews
12.7 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: £33 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing