We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place a little off the beaten track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The road to our holiday rental was rained out and so we arrived in coromandel at around 4:30 looking for a place to stay we stopped at a few motels and found them uninspiring and pricey. We then stopped at anchor lodge. We were shown a room in the bush and immediately became inspired. The room was fastidiously clean. Bed sheets arranged in an inviting way. Shower and bathroom also ver clean. Good water pressure. Good bed. Nice little balcony. Would definitely stay again. Not happy about the charge for wifi but this tends to be quite common here in NZ.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank SusanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Anchor Lodge is located in a quiet part on the south side of quiet Coromandel Town. At walking distance you find supermarkets, shops, cafés, take-aways and restaurants. Please do not miss the nearby bakery at the corner of Wharf Rd & Hauraki Rd. It's pain-au-chocolat is better than any we had in France.

The Anchor Lodge has a true timber building architecture and atmosphere, walls between rooms are relatively thin. Fortunately the lodge consists of rooms & cabins in a series of different buildings.

We had a cabin style accommodation with a spacious room, comprising kitchen, living room and bedroom in one. Surprisingly the queen-size bed was adjacent to the kitchen. The OK bed had an electrical blanket added for comfort. Also we had a separate bedroom with three single beds which we didn't use but to store our luggage. The unit had a veranda with table and chairs and a separate bathroom with toilet, washbasin and shower over the bath. The main room had a large dining table & chairs, a sofa and a flatscreen TV set hanging from the wall.

Our room was clean and the kitchen had a complete outfit with cooking plate, oven, sink and a huge fridge. In the morning the modest yet acceptable breakfast was brought in on a plate: muesli, milk, orange juice, toast, cheese, cold-cuts and a hard boiled egg. In the kitchen we had a facility for coffee & tea and we made these ourselves.

The hotel is pleasant and satisfactory maintained. Staffs were helpful and correct. Wi-Fi internet is extra at NZ$ 5 per day. Complimentary bicycles of low quality to ride around town.

We would recommend Anchor Lodge to all who seek an adequate & quiet, yet slightly overpriced accommodation not far from the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but would have definitely stayed longer If our Iitinerary allowed.

Upon arriving (quite late in the evening) reception staff greeted us with a smile and were happy to answer any questions and accomodated our needs.

Photos definitely do not do this place justice!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritishBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and two kids stayed in an apartment and where extremely impressed by the quality and style of furnishing. The spacious rooms were wonderfully presented, and we instantly felt like it had more of a homely feel than any other hotel/motel we'd stayed at previously.

We arrived late on a Friday evening, and the staff kindly stayed kept the office open for us to greet us on our arrival. They were very friendly and informative, giving us loads of 'local tips'.

The apartment we stayed in had had new carpet installed, which made it feel very plush. The beds were firm but comfortable and the bathroom was modern and well equipped.

We based ourselves here for two nights for our weekend away and with only being a short 5min walk into the centre of town, it makes it a great place to base yourself for your stay in Coromandel.

Would happily recommend to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: Knowledgeable staff provide great 'local tips'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZHodgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We first stayed at Anchor Lodge about 10 years ago. This February, we were back in the Coromandel again.
I am happy to report that Anchor Lodge is still a great place to stay in Coromandel Town. Just a short walk from the cafes, shops and restaurants in the town, but tucked away in a great, quiet location against the hillside. The units are great, good sized and modern.
If you are doing the Coromandel walkway, you can be picked up at the motel.
Hopefully, it will be less than 10 years before we stay here again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in a spa apartment and were delighted with our accommodation. Plenty of room (sleeps 6 easily and is worth knowing if you are wanting to accommodate a larger group), clean and modern. An easy walk to the main town and a quick drive to the range of attractions nearby. The patio setting was great and we ate outside enjoying the tranquility. Spa in the bathroom was lovely to unwind in at the end of the day. My only minor criticism was that It was a little hot upstairs and some fans would be great in the hotter months.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I had a wonderful 4 nights at the Anchor Lodge. It was my home base as I explored Coromandel Peninsula. I had great breakfasts, a quiet and clean room, a place to do laundry and even a lending library! The staff was kind and helpful at all all hours of the day and evening. I could walk easily to restaurants and some walking trails. I'd recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: I liked rooms 1-4 that were on the ground level. I was in room 3 which was further from the noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: £33 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing