We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“GOOD!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

overall this place was awesome, tidy, handy to things...service was good and very helpful.would definitely go back :-) The kitchenette was fully equipped with everything you need. fridge was a bit small but did the job...!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogibear1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    116
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
76
156
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We did not want to drive up the Coromandel Peninsula and back in one day. We stayed at the Anchor Lodge in Coromandel Town. It worked out great. We had a ground floor suite with a kitchen. It was close to town and right across from the water. The room was very nice and was just what we needed for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We've just come back from an easter break in the Coromandel, we stayed here in a room with a balcony and it was superb, we did not realise all that was on offer and the photos on the website don't do it justice, our room was clean modern and had all you needed for a long or short stay, very comfy bed and sofa, the staff on reception were friendly and very helpful, there is free use of the jacuzzi and swimming pool as well as the barbecues on site, also you can have free bike hire from the hotel also they do an optional breakfast, all in all a very pleasant stay, will definetely stay here again, big thumbs up

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for the rooms with balconies, you will enjoy having breakfast out there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The road to our holiday rental was rained out and so we arrived in coromandel at around 4:30 looking for a place to stay we stopped at a few motels and found them uninspiring and pricey. We then stopped at anchor lodge. We were shown a room in the bush and immediately became inspired. The room was fastidiously clean. Bed sheets arranged in an inviting way. Shower and bathroom also ver clean. Good water pressure. Good bed. Nice little balcony. Would definitely stay again. Not happy about the charge for wifi but this tends to be quite common here in NZ.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
399 reviews
278 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Anchor Lodge is located in a quiet part on the south side of quiet Coromandel Town. At walking distance you find supermarkets, shops, cafés, take-aways and restaurants. Please do not miss the nearby bakery at the corner of Wharf Rd & Hauraki Rd. It's pain-au-chocolat is better than any we had in France.

The Anchor Lodge has a true timber building architecture and atmosphere, walls between rooms are relatively thin. Fortunately the lodge consists of rooms & cabins in a series of different buildings.

We had a cabin style accommodation with a spacious room, comprising kitchen, living room and bedroom in one. Surprisingly the queen-size bed was adjacent to the kitchen. The OK bed had an electrical blanket added for comfort. Also we had a separate bedroom with three single beds which we didn't use but to store our luggage. The unit had a veranda with table and chairs and a separate bathroom with toilet, washbasin and shower over the bath. The main room had a large dining table & chairs, a sofa and a flatscreen TV set hanging from the wall.

Our room was clean and the kitchen had a complete outfit with cooking plate, oven, sink and a huge fridge. In the morning the modest yet acceptable breakfast was brought in on a plate: muesli, milk, orange juice, toast, cheese, cold-cuts and a hard boiled egg. In the kitchen we had a facility for coffee & tea and we made these ourselves.

The hotel is pleasant and satisfactory maintained. Staffs were helpful and correct. Wi-Fi internet is extra at NZ$ 5 per day. Complimentary bicycles of low quality to ride around town.

We would recommend Anchor Lodge to all who seek an adequate & quiet, yet slightly overpriced accommodation not far from the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but would have definitely stayed longer If our Iitinerary allowed.

Upon arriving (quite late in the evening) reception staff greeted us with a smile and were happy to answer any questions and accomodated our needs.

Photos definitely do not do this place justice!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and two kids stayed in an apartment and where extremely impressed by the quality and style of furnishing. The spacious rooms were wonderfully presented, and we instantly felt like it had more of a homely feel than any other hotel/motel we'd stayed at previously.

We arrived late on a Friday evening, and the staff kindly stayed kept the office open for us to greet us on our arrival. They were very friendly and informative, giving us loads of 'local tips'.

The apartment we stayed in had had new carpet installed, which made it feel very plush. The beds were firm but comfortable and the bathroom was modern and well equipped.

We based ourselves here for two nights for our weekend away and with only being a short 5min walk into the centre of town, it makes it a great place to base yourself for your stay in Coromandel.

Would happily recommend to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: Knowledgeable staff provide great 'local tips'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZHodgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Property: Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing