We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quite Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent just one night in their backpackers style accommodation. Booked for 2 males in a twin room. The room was clean, had nice big beds and was comfortable. Was a little warm as there wasn't any fan and it was summer.

Shared toilets were quite well cleaned and maintained and had a little washing facility. Shared kitchen with loads of pots and pans to use. A little television common area. Service was decent and friendly. Only gripe about the place was the pay to use wifi usage. A charge of $5 per person to receive a slip of paper which has the same exact password and username for each person. So you could get away with just having one person buy the wifi and share the username around since it's common for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xunliang_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    112
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
73
151
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A very friendly accommodation in quaint Coromandel. A nice and well equipped unit, that made for a comfortable evening. Host Reagan was very helpful. We had the new spa suite. WE had a few niggly problems but would recommend Anchor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsnelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Myself and my two young sons were traveling the Coromandel. Without a booking Anchor Lodge were able to sort us out some accommodation. It was of a very high standard, as is the entire complex. My sons were delighted with the heated pool and spa onsite and the grounds are laid out beautifully. The two bedroom unit was perfect. The customer service here was excellent, right down to our cooked breakfasts being delivered to our room. This is a must stay if you are in the Coromandel and we will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taphysio63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in a lovely lodge for six. Really beautifully designed and thoroughly modern, although compact for six of us, and not much of a kitchen (microwave, few rings, no oven). Great bathroom with spa bath, pretty mezzanine bedroom. Nice deck, and access to a BBQ, although not really a great view. Tiny pool, but fun for the kids. Great outdoor hot tub, and could be booked in advance for private sessions.

Breakfast was brought to us the night before to put in the fridge...good continental choices and complimentary with our room rate.

Helpful staff that told us about local amenities and particularly about the glow worm cave next door which otherwise we would never have found...and they had free Wellington boots for us!

Good location for Coromandel Town, walkable to main street and activities within easy drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

CONS:
# Only motel to ask for credit card details to ensure we don't 'run away' in case of damages. We kindly said no thank you but they did not give another option. He was rude and said "Give me your card number or leave!" Never had this before, even at hotels.

PROS:

# Nice and clean motel, no dust or dirt inside.
# Quiet town (coromandel)
# Nice architecture.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGuy290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
The great thing about working in the hospitality industry is all of the interesting people you get to meet. These ones were certainly a special case and did not disappoint! They refused to give us any details of any sort which raised a flag immediately. Did not want to write their address or credit card details on the check-in form which is standard info required at any accommodation provider upon check in, hence I calmly advised them they would need to provide these details or find accommodation elsewhere. They then had a massive outburst of rage and couldn't understand why we had such a policy. We were then provided with an invalid credit card number which I rejected and was met with yet another outburst of rage. In the end we actually did you a favor by not turning you away because I highly doubt anyone else would have accepted you. The ironic thing is by not giving us your credit card or address details I now have no where to send your $150 Braun electric toothbrush that you left behind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

overall this place was awesome, tidy, handy to things...service was good and very helpful.would definitely go back :-) The kitchenette was fully equipped with everything you need. fridge was a bit small but did the job...!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogibear1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We did not want to drive up the Coromandel Peninsula and back in one day. We stayed at the Anchor Lodge in Coromandel Town. It worked out great. We had a ground floor suite with a kitchen. It was close to town and right across from the water. The room was very nice and was just what we needed for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
14.2 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Property: Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing