We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth! Bliss personified!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth! Bliss personified!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay in coromondel was itself a breathtaking experience. The coastal beauty of the place sweeps you of the ground. Of all the hotels/lodges we stayed at during our stay in NZ. Coromondel is the closest to our hearts. The lodge was run by few people, the were very helpful. We got wifi connection unlimited download for as cheap as $5. The cheapest we came across in the whole of NZ... The had this common kitchen where you could go and cook. A fridge where you could leave back your food or anything and others could use it. The room had a small kitchen with basic vessels. we loved cooking at the lodge. it also has this small hot pool. and barbecue area. Me and and husband had awesome time at the barbecue. the lodge is clean and well maintained. Both of us have been raving about this place since our stay. I wish to go back there to relive my honeymoon days... Bliss personified.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    117
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
77
157
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double room in the backpacker hostel. Our room had a lot of dust and cobwebs & a spider. We spoke to reception and we were moved to another room so great service there. Our room was nice & comfortable with a TV. Although the walls are pretty thin.
We found the whole hostel to be pretty dusty which flared my allergies.
The shared bathroom & kitchen were both fine with nothing majorly wrong. The worst thing is the showers only have a curtain and no locked door. There's also no space to get changed or store your clothes.
The kitchen is well stocked with pots etc and it was all kept clean mostly.
Staff and service were both great!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here with my family this Queens birthday weekend. Our unit was really lovely, very comfortable and quiet. We appreciated the attention to detail in layout and set up. Our teens and tween enjoyed the heated pool and access to the DVD library. We had the cooked breakfast - all 5 perfectly cooked and delivered to our unit hot. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent just one night in their backpackers style accommodation. Booked for 2 males in a twin room. The room was clean, had nice big beds and was comfortable. Was a little warm as there wasn't any fan and it was summer.

Shared toilets were quite well cleaned and maintained and had a little washing facility. Shared kitchen with loads of pots and pans to use. A little television common area. Service was decent and friendly. Only gripe about the place was the pay to use wifi usage. A charge of $5 per person to receive a slip of paper which has the same exact password and username for each person. So you could get away with just having one person buy the wifi and share the username around since it's common for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A very friendly accommodation in quaint Coromandel. A nice and well equipped unit, that made for a comfortable evening. Host Reagan was very helpful. We had the new spa suite. WE had a few niggly problems but would recommend Anchor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Myself and my two young sons were traveling the Coromandel. Without a booking Anchor Lodge were able to sort us out some accommodation. It was of a very high standard, as is the entire complex. My sons were delighted with the heated pool and spa onsite and the grounds are laid out beautifully. The two bedroom unit was perfect. The customer service here was excellent, right down to our cooked breakfasts being delivered to our room. This is a must stay if you are in the Coromandel and we will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in a lovely lodge for six. Really beautifully designed and thoroughly modern, although compact for six of us, and not much of a kitchen (microwave, few rings, no oven). Great bathroom with spa bath, pretty mezzanine bedroom. Nice deck, and access to a BBQ, although not really a great view. Tiny pool, but fun for the kids. Great outdoor hot tub, and could be booked in advance for private sessions.

Breakfast was brought to us the night before to put in the fridge...good continental choices and complimentary with our room rate.

Helpful staff that told us about local amenities and particularly about the glow worm cave next door which otherwise we would never have found...and they had free Wellington boots for us!

Good location for Coromandel Town, walkable to main street and activities within easy drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
243 reviews
12.7 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Property: Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing