We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The cottages are comfortable and very clean. Jan and Steve were accomodating, friendly and just lovely with our two year old daugter. And the pool was a godsend in the hot weather. I highly recommend this place for families.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We chose to stay at Coromandel Colonial Cottages for our 7 day visit to the Coromandel Peninsula and we were not disappointed at all by our choice. The hosts Jan and Steve were very friendly and welcoming. Jan took the time on arrival to highlight the main points of interest, how to get there and the best times to visit as well as the best local eateries. It is closely located to the Gold Stamper Battery and Driving Creek Railway and is a short drive into the main part of town (3 mins) or a 10-15min walk. The units were clean and spacious. The pool was well maintained being clean and warm. The poolside has comfortable sun lounges and umbrellas to read a book in the shade while keeping an eye on the kids. There is also a swing set and trampoline for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our hosts Steve and Jan are a lovely couple who go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. The cottages are unique with their old world look but inside is immaculate with the rooms cleaned well every day of your stay. Outside there is a great space for the children to let their hair down with table tennis, trampoline swings slide etc. The salt water pool is so relaxing you could spend most of the day there. The best coffee in town is at the Driving Creek Café which is only a ten minute stroll away. There is also a great train trip to be had there also. We had an amazing time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano5812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Clean and Tidy Unit. Clean Bathrooms but the shower pressure was absolutely pathetic. A little way out of town but was very quiet. It was even worse than the usual hotel and motel restricted pressure. It was like a very very fine spray on your face. Pool lovely and in a very quiet spot.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan W, Owner at Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Hi Thank you for your review of our Cottages. We are sorry, but mystified, that you did not have enough water pressure in your Cottage shower. Consequently, we have checked them all and are unable to find a problem. Could you please advise us which Cottage you stayed in so we can have the plumber test it. Thank you Steve & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I am a member of a Fishing Club and every year for about the last 6/7 years we have booked the whole motel. Our members have a fabulous time and of course with no other people staying we are able to be as quiet or as noisy as we wish. The hosts Jan and Steve are fabulous people and so accommodating above and beyond the norm, nothing is too much trouble. Fabulous setting, the pool is excellent and so clean. The accommodation is immaculately clean and they are meticulous about the tidyness of the gardens. 10 minute walk to town. They have filleting facilities for our fisho's. The BBQ area is just great for our Saturday night BBQ. Just a fabulous place to stay. Hopefully we can continue to stay with them for many years to come.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisces950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

On arrival, the managers were hospitable, helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay and planned holiday enjoyable. The cottage was immaculate, the pool clean and warm, and the view amazing. I would definitely stay again. Thank you so much for going out of your way to make our holiday a memorable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a two bedroom cottage and we enjoyed our stay. Well positioned just 5 minutes from the township but away from the bustle and set back well from the road. Well appointed and extremely helpful owners. They made very good recommendations of things to see based on what we said we liked.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
12.2 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel

Property: Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Address: 1737 Rings Rd, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique,individual,spacious, colonial style cottages in quiet, peaceful garden surroundings with bush views.The 1 Bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a large bedroom with a queen bed, sleeping 1-2 people. These cottages have a spacious lounge dining area, kitchen with a double cook top, microwave & fridge & a roomy bathroom with shower & toilet.The 2 bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a queen bed, twin beds in the 2nd bedroom & 2 divans in the spacious lounge, sleeping up to 6 people. These cottages have a kitchen with full cooking facilities, stove, oven, microwave & fridge, large lounge dining room & a toilet separate to the bathroom.All cottages have rear carport parking, a front porch with table & chairs, WiFi and Sky TV. Facilities include a solar heated pool (Summer), children's play ground, under cover BBQ area, fish cleaning area & boat parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coromandel Colonial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing