We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for a Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very quiet and peaceful. Close to restaurants, and friendly hosts.
Cottages are clean and well furnished. Remember to ask for the internet code when checking in as it is not shown in the rooms!
Plenty of activates in the area, very good for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Double Bedroom cottages are great value and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a great place to stay if you need a break away. Steve and Jan are great hosts and so worth the stay. We liked it so much we are going back in Feb. Neat cottages and so quiet. Within walking distance of town and Jan is so knowledgable about the local history and tourist attractions. A must to stay....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A great, quiet place to stay and well located for visiting the peninsula. The cottages are spacious and comfortable, although they might need a little airing when you arrive. Staying I the winter, we found that the heaters really warmed the main living area in next to no time. The kitchen area is well equipped and the place is kept well cleaned. The grounds are well kept and a pleasant place to relax.

The cottages are well located for travelling across to the other side of the peninsula and is very close to the Driving Creek Railway which affords an interesting experience coupled with spectacular views. Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach are further afield but are an absolute must on a fine day. Just be prepared for very windy roads, so travel is slower than you might expect. Mind you, it is well worth the time as it is one of the most beautiful areas of the North Island that we cam across.

PS. The Coromadel "meat keeper" has the best plain pork sausages we have ever had.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night in a 1 bedroom unit. The unit was clean and had everything we needed. Good heating ( it was rather cold outside), extra pillows and blankets.
t's a nice and quiet location. Reception was very friendly and provided us with some good tips! Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5cloggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed for just one night at the Colonial. Yes, the hostess Jan at the front desk was friendly and helpful, which is what you'd expect at anyplace where you are paying money to stay. We stayed in Room #1 (2 bedroom unit) and upon entry we all frowned. Yes, it was clean but extremely basic for the price of $180+ a night. The furnishings are very old, kitchen dated, plastic flowers; the entire place could really do with an upgrade/refurbish. It is located right out of the centre of Coromandel town and on the main road. We found it a bit too noisy for our sleeping and had very loud neighbors next door. Would we stay again? no. Would we recommend it? no. The next night we stayed at the most gorgeous place, for much less money...do some more research and give the Colonial a miss.

Room Tip: Room # 1 has noisy next door neighbors (from the adjacent property).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayEm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We took our Japanese guests to Coromandel to enjoy the local attractions. Little did we realise that the Colonial Cottages Motel would prove to be a highlight for them. They had never stayed in a motel and their first time was everyting you could ask. A friendly welcome from Jan with tour suggestions set the scene. Then the roomy cottage with everything looking spic and span impressed. The motel is very handy to the local restaurants, galleries, shopping and Driving Creek Railway. The continental breakfast that Jan prepared was outstanding value with a variety of fruits including locally grown Feijoas (another first for our friends), fruit salad, juice, cereal, toast and spreads.Our guests will remember this stay for many years especially as Jan returned their precious book which they left behind. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were recommended this motel by the iSite in Whitianga and we were not disappointed. The welcome was friendly, the cottage was well appointed and it was above all quiet & peaceful. Jan was especially helpful in booking local trips and advising on walks. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Cottage 8 is quiet & nearest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian39a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
11.9 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel

Address: 1737 Rings Rd, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: £80 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique,individual,spacious, colonial style cottages in quiet, peaceful garden surroundings with bush views.The 1 Bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a large bedroom with a queen bed, sleeping 1-2 people. These cottages have a spacious lounge dining area, kitchen with a double cook top, microwave & fridge & a roomy bathroom with shower & toilet.The 2 bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a queen bed, twin beds in the 2nd bedroom & 2 divans in the spacious lounge, sleeping up to 6 people. These cottages have a kitchen with full cooking facilities, stove, oven, microwave & fridge, large lounge dining room & a toilet separate to the bathroom.All cottages have rear carport parking, a front porch with table & chairs, WiFi and Sky TV. Facilities include a solar heated pool (Summer), children's play ground, under cover BBQ area, fish cleaning area & boat parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coromandel Colonial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing