We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great value and friendly hosts”
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Great value, beautiful cottages with good sized rooms. Hosts incredibly friendly and helpful. Swimming pool, table tennis etc all provided so good for children. A little way out of town but we easily walked in for dinner. very clean, and good cooking facilities. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We stayed 2 nights, and received a great welcome from our hosts. Cottages were spotlessly clean,comfortable, well equipped and spacious. All exactly as described on the website. Lots of information about places to visit and routes on to our next destination.

A word of warning though - do not attempt to drive a van under the arch - it is lower than you think!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannienorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Yet again I have had the pleasure of enjoying the hospitality of Steve and Jan at this fine motel. They go the extra mile to make one feel at home and this is very unusal for hosts in this industry. Both hosts are more than accomodating in ensuring the stay is the best it can possibly be and to this end I have no hesitation in reccomending this motel to all discerning travellers.
Cheers Rod Field

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerWhakatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I dont know where to start.
These are gorgeous little cottages, with all the basics and then some!
The Hosts were totally accomodating to just about anything we needed. Both are great people and I would totally recommend a stay to others.

I will definately be back there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellySHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, NZ
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We booked the Cottages as a base for our friends and family to stay for our wedding and also as the place we were to get ready. Unfortunately on the day of our wedding, the weather was horrible and wet. But fortunately we were lucky enough to choose this motel to be staying in and Jan & Steve really did save the day for us. Not only were we able to have the whole group (incl my 90 yr old nana) all together, but Jan & Steve were kind enough to offer their lounge as our ceremony venue. And it was absolutely perfect.

Every one of our guests were more than happy with their units. Each unit was large, very clean and very comfortable (the shower in our one - #6 - was also great, just what I needed that morning!). There was more than enough room for 5 girls to get ready in our cottage without scaring Dad off! I think the Cottages would suit any group and I already have friends and workmates planning holidays there with their young children and others wanting a romantic break away from the children! And some of these are just people who have seen the photos and heard how much those that did stay loved it.

I just cant thank Jan & Steve enough for their kindness, hospitality and wonderful motel - I think I may have been the calmest bride to get married in such horrible weather. I would recommend this motel to everybody for any reason they have for their holiday, family, romance, girls or boys weekend away.

Thank you so much Jan & Steve, you are truly wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I'll start by saying this motel is in a lovely part of New Zealand. The winter special was very cheap (£35 per night) and the unit was really spacious and it was clean. However I don't think it had been decorated since sometime in 70's! The carpet was very faded and the fittings and furnishings were generally well worn. I also disliked the bathroom which was similarly dated and had one of those showers with no tray just a drain in the floor. I know the current owners have only recently taken the place on so maybe they plan to do it up. The property has such potential if it was extensively modernised.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the decor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyCoromandel, Owner at Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2008
Thank you for your review.
We agree that the Cottages need refurbishing(hence, as you mentioned, they are priced accordingly) in keeping with the Colonial style of the Complex.
As new owners, a refurbishing programme has been implemented but it is not possible to complete all the Cottages at the same time.
Our first priority on taking over Coromandel Colonial Cottages was bringing the Cottages and the Complex up to a high standard of cleanliness.
The Cottage in question was built in 1989 and is the only one with disability access hence the wheel chair friendly shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
75 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
243 reviews
11.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel

Property: Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Address: 1737 Rings Rd, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique,individual,spacious, colonial style cottages in quiet, peaceful garden surroundings with bush views.The 1 Bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a large bedroom with a queen bed, sleeping 1-2 people. These cottages have a spacious lounge dining area, kitchen with a double cook top, microwave & fridge & a roomy bathroom with shower & toilet.The 2 bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a queen bed, twin beds in the 2nd bedroom & 2 divans in the spacious lounge, sleeping up to 6 people. These cottages have a kitchen with full cooking facilities, stove, oven, microwave & fridge, large lounge dining room & a toilet separate to the bathroom.All cottages have rear carport parking, a front porch with table & chairs, WiFi and Sky TV. Facilities include a solar heated pool (Summer), children's play ground, under cover BBQ area, fish cleaning area & boat parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coromandel Colonial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing