We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation, silly rules, bad smells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

A series of sympathetically styled cottages have been constructed at the back of a Victorian house close the the center of Coromandel. There is a small double bedroom, another room with 2 singles, and sofa beds in the lounge room as well as a small kitchen where basic meals can be cooked. A strong negative for us was a sign next to the stove prohibiting the cooking of spicy foods and imposing a cleaning charge if this is ignored. Nothing was said about this when we checked in, so this is of doubtful legality. Also, why would 'spicy' foods be any more offensive than, say, the smell of bacon fat? And what if your cultural background was that you eat spicy foods such as curries - this restriction is potentially discriminatory. What is especially annoying is that while we were out the cleaners used the foulest smelling cleaning liquid we have ever encountered, which we could not air out. We cannot recommend this place while it has such a ludicrous rule, and while the cleaners use that particular product.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Jafdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed in the Diggers Rest room for 2 nights. The grounds and facilities are great - play equipment for under 10's, washing and drying facilities available (small cost), large 2 bedroom cottage with family room, large fully equipped kitchen, reasonable sized bathroom, lots of towels, blankets, etc. The owners were extremely helpful, kind and friendly, so there is no problem there. It was very cold (winter does that!) and our request for extra heating was taken care of immediately.

This could very easily be great family accommodation - certainly a new mattress is required on the double bed, unless rolling into the middle all night is your thing. The internal decor desperately needs some updating, as it has a definite 'holiday shack' feel to it. While this may seem to be nit-picking, this is the type of information and detail I look for when reading T/A reviews. Don't get me wrong; this is a comfy and functional place to stay, and I would recommend it to a friend, but with the same explanation. I have given it 4 out of 5 because it is by no means a bad place to stay, but would have preferred to have given it 3.5 out of 5 if I could.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlandoAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Great value, beautiful cottages with good sized rooms. Hosts incredibly friendly and helpful. Swimming pool, table tennis etc all provided so good for children. A little way out of town but we easily walked in for dinner. very clean, and good cooking facilities. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We stayed 2 nights, and received a great welcome from our hosts. Cottages were spotlessly clean,comfortable, well equipped and spacious. All exactly as described on the website. Lots of information about places to visit and routes on to our next destination.

A word of warning though - do not attempt to drive a van under the arch - it is lower than you think!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannienorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Yet again I have had the pleasure of enjoying the hospitality of Steve and Jan at this fine motel. They go the extra mile to make one feel at home and this is very unusal for hosts in this industry. Both hosts are more than accomodating in ensuring the stay is the best it can possibly be and to this end I have no hesitation in reccomending this motel to all discerning travellers.
Cheers Rod Field

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerWhakatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I dont know where to start.
These are gorgeous little cottages, with all the basics and then some!
The Hosts were totally accomodating to just about anything we needed. Both are great people and I would totally recommend a stay to others.

I will definately be back there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellySHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We booked the Cottages as a base for our friends and family to stay for our wedding and also as the place we were to get ready. Unfortunately on the day of our wedding, the weather was horrible and wet. But fortunately we were lucky enough to choose this motel to be staying in and Jan & Steve really did save the day for us. Not only were we able to have the whole group (incl my 90 yr old nana) all together, but Jan & Steve were kind enough to offer their lounge as our ceremony venue. And it was absolutely perfect.

Every one of our guests were more than happy with their units. Each unit was large, very clean and very comfortable (the shower in our one - #6 - was also great, just what I needed that morning!). There was more than enough room for 5 girls to get ready in our cottage without scaring Dad off! I think the Cottages would suit any group and I already have friends and workmates planning holidays there with their young children and others wanting a romantic break away from the children! And some of these are just people who have seen the photos and heard how much those that did stay loved it.

I just cant thank Jan & Steve enough for their kindness, hospitality and wonderful motel - I think I may have been the calmest bride to get married in such horrible weather. I would recommend this motel to everybody for any reason they have for their holiday, family, romance, girls or boys weekend away.

Thank you so much Jan & Steve, you are truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewMrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
12.2 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
248 reviews
11.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel

Address: 1737 Rings Rd, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: £68 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique,individual,spacious, colonial style cottages in quiet, peaceful garden surroundings with bush views.The 1 Bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a large bedroom with a queen bed, sleeping 1-2 people. These cottages have a spacious lounge dining area, kitchen with a double cook top, microwave & fridge & a roomy bathroom with shower & toilet.The 2 bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a queen bed, twin beds in the 2nd bedroom & 2 divans in the spacious lounge, sleeping up to 6 people. These cottages have a kitchen with full cooking facilities, stove, oven, microwave & fridge, large lounge dining room & a toilet separate to the bathroom.All cottages have rear carport parking, a front porch with table & chairs, WiFi and Sky TV. Facilities include a solar heated pool (Summer), children's play ground, under cover BBQ area, fish cleaning area & boat parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coromandel Colonial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing