We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel, clean, comfortable, helpful host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice motel, clean, comfortable, helpful host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

We spent two nights in this lovely town. The motel was a bit out of town but fine if you have a car. The host was very friendly and informative. The cottage was very clean and comfortable and in a quiet situation surrounded by pretty well kept gardens. We would stay there again very happily.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMJones6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

all i can say is great place to stay . Host (steve and jan) went all out for us. Incredible hospitality ,awesome setting,

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertforshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We recently stayed at Colonial Cottages for five days when we were staying in the Coromandel area for a family wedding. We had a one bedroom cottage which was very clean, roomy and comfortable. We had never been to Coromandel Town and loved the area, it had a laid back feel and lots of very good cafes and restaurants, The motel's grounds were lovely, I was chuffed to realise an author I admire, Fay Weldon had once lived in the "big house", her father had been the local doctor. Other members of the wedding party were also staying and we made full use of the large communal barbecue area, many of us enjoyed the swimming pool, there was also a small playground and table tennis. We enjoyed sitting in the lovely surroundings on our verandah in the morning having breakfast before exploring the area. We loved visiting Driving Creek Railway, well worth a visit. We visited a cafe that was very close to the railway, ramshackle but with divine cakes. I would recommend this motel to anyone visiting this beautiful part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Four of us stayed in a house adjacent to the Cottages but also managed by Steve and Jan Walters. They could not have been more helpful and welcoming.The cottages are charming and the swimming pool was a real boon at the end of a long, hot day of sightseeing. Jan is full of good info about the area and Steve will take you down to the river to show you the eels that live there. Plus we bought the freshest of eggs just laid by their free range chickens. The house was extremely well-equipped and comfortable, a real home from homeLike all the accommodation in Coromandel, the cottages are a 5-minute drive from the centre of town, which makes for a peaceful retreat. Very good value, too. A first-class place to stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We highly recommend this charming place. Especially the owners were very friendly and helpfull (they helped with everything we needed - an then some :-))
The cottages are very spacious and the area has its own charm.

We had a great time there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laui60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toongabbie, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

These cottages are completely refurbished and offer the use of their laundry. They are only a short drive out of town but offer a quiet location. The owners are wonderful - Jan made us feel very welcome. I would highly recommend these cottages if in Coromandel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol58a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We were expecting a good standard at this motel and we were not disappointed. From the moment of our arrival Jan and Steve showed nothing but kindness and helpfulness. Jan advised us on places to visit in the area and we followed her suggestions and thoroughly enjoyed them all. The unit was great - a good size living area and bedroom and a large shower room, the whole unit was spotlessly clean and with its own deck to sit on we were well pleased. Thank you Jan and Steve adn congratulations on such a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
11.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel

Property: Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Address: 1737 Rings Rd, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique,individual,spacious, colonial style cottages in quiet, peaceful garden surroundings with bush views.The 1 Bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a large bedroom with a queen bed, sleeping 1-2 people. These cottages have a spacious lounge dining area, kitchen with a double cook top, microwave & fridge & a roomy bathroom with shower & toilet.The 2 bedroom fully self contained Cottages have a queen bed, twin beds in the 2nd bedroom & 2 divans in the spacious lounge, sleeping up to 6 people. These cottages have a kitchen with full cooking facilities, stove, oven, microwave & fridge, large lounge dining room & a toilet separate to the bathroom.All cottages have rear carport parking, a front porch with table & chairs, WiFi and Sky TV. Facilities include a solar heated pool (Summer), children's play ground, under cover BBQ area, fish cleaning area & boat parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coromandel Colonial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing