We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfortable and roomy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tidewater Motel & Tourist Park
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This motel is good value for money . 120 dollars for a spacious well fitted accommodation with all needs catered for e.g.tea,coffee,milk, toaster, microwave,tv, etc

I would recommend this motel highly

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MikejMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed in Tidewater for one week and had a great time. Tony and Linda are wonderful and very nice people, always willing to help or give you advise on anything.
The place self is cosy, very clean and with a great backyard with nice views. It's close to everything you need in Coromandel, so if we would come back, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Tony and Linda are absolutely lovely hosts! Had one of the best evenings there :D Rooms and surrounding are very clean, relaxed atmosphere, nothing's missing there!
One can do nice walks and Coromandel Town is a beautiful place, too. Would always come back and like to remember those days ;-)
Many regards from Germany, Katharina

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keathe-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed here for one night in June 2008.

The YHA hostel is part of a tourist park and camp site, so is very different from most hostels. The rooms are very cheap but that is reflected in what you get for your money.

Hostel rooms are basic wooden challets which in the winter are freezing! Our double room was the most basic I have ever stayed in. A made up bed in a room with a light and switch. Thats is! No electrical socket. Nothing! It is also very very small. Just enough room to walk around. Saying that it was CLEAN and the bed freshly made! Thats the most important thing for me!

The park is under new ownership and from talking to the owner she has lots of plans on how to improve things. Dont get me wrong. It was not a bad place to stay.

It was very quiet when we stayed with only 1 other person using the hostel.

It has a comfortable lounge and TV room which is heated. There are no internet facilities at all but thats going to change.

The kitchen and dining area are very small and are available for those using the campsite. We had no problems but if the place is busy you could have probelms.

Bathrooms were clean but small. 1 male toilet with 2 showers & 1 female toilet and 2 showers. Again these are available for the campers so in summer there is going to be a wait. To work the showers you have to flick a time switch in the bathroom block before getting in the shower. That gives you hot water for about 3 mins before the water runs ice cold. You then have to wrap a towel round you, leave the shower and hit the switch, with wet hands, again.

The park is a very short walk into the pretty little town. If you like fish visit the famous Coromandel smoking house. The choice of products on offer are fantastic and very tasty!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank The-Poultney-Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JessRoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tschawangobango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
0.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coromandel Tui Lodge
Coromandel Tui Lodge
#6 of 18 in Coromandel
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Motel & Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Motel & Tourist Park

Address: 270 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Tidewater Tourist Park)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range: £31 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tidewater Tourist Park is set in parklike grounds of an historic villa right in the heart of Coromandel town, on the Coromandel peninsula. From our spacious grounds you can take in the gorgeous views of the Coromandel Harbour and the magnificent sunrises and sunsets. A photographers dream. The hostel is only 200 metres to the main street of town and many fine restaurants, bars and cafes. Enjoy our beautiful grounds, BBQ area or indulge in a private sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Tidewater Motel & Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing