We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don,t miss this !”
Review of The Waterworks

The Waterworks
Ranked #2 of 2 Fun & Games in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Release the child within and experience New Zealand's quirkiest theme park. Voted by AA Tourism as a must-do Kiwi experience The Waterworks is a theme park with a difference. Set in 5 acres of native Coromandel Bush and just 10 minutes from Coromandel Town is an array of water powered inventions, quirky contraptions and fun to discover at every turn. Inspired by the ability to create something new out of something old our attractions are made largely from recycled materials and are powered by water. Water is used to keep time on the wooden water clock; watch out though it often works on Coromandel time. We've got water cannons to blast away on and bikes that pump H2O. Our human sized hamster wheel is an absolute hoot and our mad inventions leave people wondering "what the".As well as the 70+ attractions to look at, play on, or interact with, The Waterworks has a generous adventure playground area perfect for picnics, an onsite café, free use of BBQs and a natural swimming hole to cool off in during the hot summer months.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don,t miss this !”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I knew I would like this attraction when I read the brochure. What I wasn't prepared for was how amazing,educational,funny and just plain good fun this place was! I can,t think of anywhere I have been that is anything like this park. So many surprises ! Whatever you do do not leave without trying the feijoa and apple smoothie at the cafe or the flying fox through the trees. I,m in my mid fifties and couldn't resist four rides on the flying fox....just can,t recommend this place too highly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Chel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    118
    39
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great spot to stretch our legs”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped off on our trip from Hahei to Auckland and enjoyed the sights and activities.

We didn't get wet (luckily) but saw lots of kids who made the most of the water activities.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iheartmauao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We took our little girl here on our trip to the coromandel, the place is a lot bigger than it first appears from the road, and turns out to be quite good vaue for money, we managed to lose a couple of hours here and you have to get a bit hands on there is a lot to do and it is very rustic but charming at the same time, only wish we'd brought our swimming gear in as they have a water hole you can swim in fed by a stream, we thoroughly enjoyed it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our visit to The Waterworks was part of a family celebration for my husband's 60th birthday. We came from Auckland for the day on 360 Discovery Ferry. Transfers to and from The Waterworks went smoothly. Our group of 19 ranged in age from 5 to 72. Very hard to tell who had more fun - the kids or the oldies. We arrived in reasonable weather but that didn't last - thunder and rain for the second part of our visit - didn't stop anyone. We had brought wet weather gear and umbrellas - but there were umbrellas supplied. Getting wet in the rain just added to getting wet with the attractions. My sixty year old hubby reverted to being a very naughty wee boy having lots of fun and the wee boys and girls with us just loved that. Our 70 year old cousin and Nana to two of the kids in our party was as wet, if not wetter than her grandkids! Hubby complaining this morning about his extra aches and pains - this one probably happened when was tipped upside down in the mouse wheel etc - but agreed with great nephews that it was "real cool fun". Would love to come back again as a family group and spend a summer's day here. BUT - agree with a previous reviewer - your loos are dire!!! I'm sure you'd get more repeat visits if they were upgraded. Too primitive to adequately describe! Would gladly pay $5 more on the entrance fee to contribute to be able to "go" in a civilised facility. Non of our party were game enough to use yours! All in all though a great idea for an attraction that is actually hard to adequately describe and explain. Our group of down to earth Kiwis appreciated the ingenuity that was behind it and admired that. The length of our visit about 2 and a half hours was appropriate for the weather conditions - but you could easily spend the day here on a fine day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wizkidmyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Certainly Got Wet!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Several families we know have been to Waterworks in the past year and raved about it so with high expectations, we went along over Easter. It did not disappoint. Slightly rustic, with some unexpected water tricks and a great adventure playground. Only disappointment was that the two BBQs we tried didn't work but we ate the picnic food we had and got good coffees from the cafe. A must do. Make sure you stop on the way out there from Coromandel town and pat the pigs that live by the side of the road.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsonsofwaiheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterworks also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Waterworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing