We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable relaxing private”
Review of Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lodge
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
auckland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable relaxing private”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A little gem. We stayed in the studio with our dogs . It has everything u need. The owners are very friendly relaxed and helpful. Coromadel town is just lovely and there's plenty of bush walks and beaches nearby. Great cafés to. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Fern Lodge is not your usual motel. The part we stayed in had two bedrooms, balcony overlooking bush, and all the usual facilities which were nicely presented. A small thing, but also a great thing, was the fact that the fridge is in the kitchen and separate from the bedroom. Therefore there was no annoying sound to be heard through the night. If we were in Coromandel again we would definitely stay there. We decided to stay a second night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

If so, this is for you. First you need to know that there are new owners who are very welcoming and friendly. They have refurbished the accommodation so don't take notice of some of the photos on this site!
It is just outside Coromandel town in a raised position. There is the Tree House which has two bedrooms and above the office. A two bedroomed cottage and the Cabin. The Cabin is reached by several steps and there is a lovely view from the deck.
We stayed in the Tree House. Quiet, airy and comfortable. Large deck with plenty of seating. BBQ available. Lounge has comfortable seating and a flat screen TV. Bedrooms have large comfortable beds.
We went to Rapaura Water Gardens. Beautiful gardens with native flora leading to a large waterfall. Good Cafe there. Turn off at Tapu on the road to Thames. Road leads to Coroglen.
Do go to Whitianga and on the Ocean Leopard Tour. The boat is covered, fast and Justin is a great commentator. We also went to the Driving Creek Railway. Another good trip

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper100England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the lodge this spring very spontaniously as we decided for a Coromandel trip in the middle of the night. We quickly looked for accommodations on tripadvisor and fern lodge was our first choice because of the cozy bedroom with the blue paint picture. James, the manager, answered the phone promtly (although it was midnight) and after a couple of minutes we were booked in.
We arrived around 4 am and must have woken up the whole place while we were looking around as it was pitch black night and we were pretty much in the bush. But James came out pretty soon and coordinated us to our studio. I was quite happy to realize that we got the studio with the baby blue paint and the cozy bed! Next morning was a gorgeous sunshiney day with birds whistling outside and the cute garden with all the citrus trees just in front of the window.
Turned out the place was managed by a young couple with 2 dogs and a cute rabbit (or 2 as one had run away), and they were in the process of renewing the whole place. They were really helpful with recommendations and we took their advice readily as we kinda had no plan, what to do in Coromandel. Haha.
It was awesome 2 days and was topped by Ray, the old host who had retired, who told us many stories and shared with us his most favourite place. We enjoyed it a lot and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shokoshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were in Coromandel town in March and I saw a few places listed to stay. As we drove through the town I saw the sign for the Celadon. The place is tucked up on a hillside, down an unpaved road with a the main house and a small detached cottage. There is a cabin or two higher but hidden by vegetation. We selected the detached cottage behind the main house primarily because it was the only one that had free wifi. The unit was comfortable and slept four. There was just two of us so we had plenty of room. It was quiet and comfortable and a few minutes from town. The manager, Genevieve was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Celadon as it met our needs and was a good value. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you would like wifi be sure to ask for a room that will allow conncection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Laurie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mssunshine12
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

As a birthday treat for my boyfriend, we decided on a weekend trip to Coromandel. So instead of another generic motel, I was looking for something a bit different but equally charming. This place delivered! I booked a cabin which is set up on a hill with beautiful views of coromandel town. It was small inside but the doors open out to a lovely decking where you can sit with a glass of wine and enjoy the suroundings - it was wonderful. The cabin inside has everything you need and we thoroughly enjoyed being up there in our little hideaway. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mssunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed for one night whilst on business. It would be nice to return again for a short holiday.
We stayed above the main house in a spacious studio with two bedrooms, lounge and bathroom. Lovely character house with stained glass and old restored rimu (or kauri) doors. Quiet, private and nice bush views.
We had plenty in common with Ray and he was very welcoming.
A nice spot in the bush. I wouldn't call it a hotel, rather a bush hideaway. Worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lodge

Property: Fern Lodge
Address: Corner Alfred St. And Oxford Terrace,, Coromandel, New Zealand (Formerly Celadon Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing