We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lodge
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Fern Lodge is a gem for people who want a place to stay that is unique in its layout and welcomes you into the family. We stayed in the Studio, which is like a small apartment with full kitchen facilities and found it wonderful. But the other rooms and suites all have their quirks and advantages. You are minutes from the little town and not far from many of the attractions in the area. The owners are very helpful with information, and if you get to know Ray you will experience a unique insight into life in Coromandel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joerussin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

My sisters and I stayed here for 2 nights in the Tree House, and really wished we had stayed longer. The owners were very welcoming and extremely helpful. And their dogs are gorgeous! We all felt very comfortable here and loved lazing on the balcony in the sun reading and relaxing. The beds were super comfortable, and the linen and towels were good quality. We fell in love with the peace and quiet here and will definitely be staying again. Thank you Genevieve and family!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozziegirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Cabin and slept better than we have in years. Though just a few steps down to the driveway and office, we enjoyed total privacy up in this cabin on the hill, with a great view of the bay. The hosts were all so friendly, with excellent tips for our stay. And we walked or biked into the center of the quaint and eccentric Coromandel Town, where we enjoyed craft beers, quality meals, and fresh fruits and veggies which we bought from NZ's ubiquitous roadside vendors, often paying in honesty boxes, and then keeping and preparing the food in the kitchenette of the Cabin. Would stay here again on our next visit. Many thanks!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nomadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived after a 6 hour drive to find that no record of our booking (and deposit) made 6 months ago existed. Good job we had copies of paperwork and there was a spare room available. After 2 nights we were asked to move rooms. Decided that we would rather leave. When we arrived there was a towel from a previous
guest still in the shower. Wooden chopping boards had deep dark cracks in them. Proprietress said that the mix up was due to 1) having a baby, 2) husband doing the booking and 3) being on holiday. She never once apologised for the inconvenience, though at least the lady on reception did. Will go to Whitianga next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandCJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is the perfect place to stay. A number of cabins tucked away in the forest on the slope above Coromandel. Very private, with good view over the bay. We stayed in the smallest one, the Cabin, which is amazing value. The area is lovely, but why go anywhere when you have the jungle all around you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

No doubt best place to stay in Coromandel Town! The lodge is just a 2-minute drive from the town center, but still feels like you are in the middle of the jungle by yourself. Inside, it couldn't have been any better. Super clean, the beds were super comfy, great bathroom... a piano if you play, books and flyers with what to do in Coromandel... you won't feel like going out once you enter the place!

On top of that, super friendly hosts, and they clearly know all the best beaches and spots on the peninsula, and are happy to advise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A little gem. We stayed in the studio with our dogs . It has everything u need. The owners are very friendly relaxed and helpful. Coromadel town is just lovely and there's plenty of bush walks and beaches nearby. Great cafés to. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
0.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lodge

Address: Corner Alfred St. And Oxford Terrace,, Coromandel, New Zealand (Formerly Celadon Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Price Range: £84 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing