We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like coming home to visit mom!”
Review of Jacaranda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jacaranda Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Outstanding experience! Clean, tidy rooms in an outstanding country setting just minutes from town. Robin, the host, couldn't be more helpful in suggesting daytime plans or places to eat. Breakfast was outstanding and made from almost all home grown fruits, veggies, eggs, and nuts. Really no reason to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Jacaranda Lodge (JL) after fond memories of our first 6 years ago. The setting is still as restful as before ands whilst there Robin was having the grass in the front paddocks cut and baled. The sight of hay bales lying in the sun was very relaxing and really gave the feel of 'down on the farm'. Robin continues to be a delightful host and thakfully the georgeous delicious homegrown and homemade breakfast were still as good as we remembered. The accomodation is upmarket and comfortable with a kitchen you can use to heat food or a fridge to keep things in. Whilst there are 2 comfortable lounges to relax in after an energetic days sightseeing. Thanks Robin for a really lovely time. (Photos to follow once I have sorted them out)

Room Tip: We love the garden room with it's own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marketkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is a gem because of the care and attention of the owner Robin. She is a tireless worker who also joins her guests for breakfast with many great tales. I am sure she would provide chicken soup if required...but breakfast is a true feast of homemade goodies and fresh produce. The rooms are clean and traditional. There are books and DVDs and much local information. A lovely start for our NZ adventures. Make sure to get robins tips for what to do with your time and where to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginnydorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave Robin works tirelessly to ensure your stay is the best it can possibly be.
Rooms are scrupulously clean and spacious, the blue room that we stayed in has an ensuite. The bed was superb. Robin even provides an anti mosquito plug in!
Breakfast is a smorgasboard of fresh produce from her garden.
During the day and eve there is a good kitchen with fresh fruit and biscuits. Also Two lounges and a veranda to spend time in.
Most importantly Robin is a walking encyclopaedia of the local area! Wether you are staying one day or a week - let Robin organise your days for you, you will not regret it! She will tailor your sightseeing to ensure you see the best sights in the best order.
One simply cannot ask for better from a b&b.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sometimewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

we stayed in jacaranda lodge over christmas for three nights. it was a wonderful experience and we were sad we had to leave after only such a short stay. it is an organic farm. the host, robin, is a very fun and friendly person, always ready to help. we had many interesting and lovely talks with her. she made us feel very welcome and even threw a big xmas dinner for her guests, including a very special new zealand dessert, the pavlova. the breakfasts were to die for, everything home made and from her garden. the house and rooms are exquisitely furnished, spotlessly clean and local art is displayed everywhere. we also met robin's chickens, a very lively bunch. the b&b is located a couple of minute's drive from coromandel.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank clivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed three nights at Jacaranda and wish we could have stayed longer. Everything was beautiful, peaceful and rejuvenating. Robin is a superb host and so very helpful - it felt like staying with our best friend. The breakfasts were excellent. Almost everything on the beautiful breakfast table came from Robin's yard or was made by Robin. We met the chickens which provide the eggs. The room and bed were very comfortable, the guest kitchen helpful and the garden a delight. We were there without a car but only once did we have to make the long walk from Coromandel town to the Jacaranda - usually there was someone to give us a lift, including Robin herself! Robin hooked us up with some good tours and walks and the best restaurants (Mussel Kitchen which is practically next door, and the Pepper Pot which is in town). Everyone in town is so friendly, too. We left feeling like we had had a month's vacation and longing to return. Thanks Robin.

Room Tip: If you want ensuite bath, ask for the blue room. It is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We had a lovely time staying in Coromandel. Robin is a wonderful host and made us feel welcome - introducing us to her new chickens and feeding the cows. We enjoyed our breakfast, and the homemade breads and jams were excellent! Jacaranda Lodge is set in a very peaceful location, and the rooms are very comfortable, although fairly basic.

Robin takes great pride in her accommodation and had a few rules/ requests that she asked her guests to comply with - nothing major, but things like not wearing shoes inside, using a coaster on the table for your drink and washing up glasses and plates when you have finished with them, which, whilst perfectly acceptable requests, made us feel like we could not fully relax in case we did something wrong. Don't get me wrong, Robin was lovely and she was very helpful in trying to help us plan our route down south.

Coromandel is beautiful and if we ever return, there is no reason why we would not stay here again, and I would recommend Jacaranda Lodge to other guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0msdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
2.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
2 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
3 mi away
Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B
1.7 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#5 of 14 in Coromandel
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Lodge

Address: 3195 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range: £78 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacaranda Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerard and Judy welcome you to their warm, spacious home surrounded by farmland and gardens. Located 3km south of Coromandel Town, Jacaranda Lodge provides the perfect escape. Relax in one of the guest lounges, stroll around the delightful gardens, experience Coromandel's walks, galleries, unique attractions and spectacular coastline. Delicious home-made continental breakfasts include fresh organic produce from Jacaranda's orchard. Large, comfortable bedrooms. Wireless internet connection. Special dietary needs catered for. Sleep, eat,enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jacaranda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing