We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home”
Review of Jacaranda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jacaranda Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Jacaranda Lodge for 3 nights recently. Although we had known about the lodge for 9 years & recommended it to numerous people who returned with glowing reports, it was a first experience for us. Now we know why everyone raved about it.

Not only is the setting in a beautiful location but the actual home is very spacious & presented beautifully amongst an orchard of prolific fruit trees, vege garden and 11 chooks wandering around. Robin our host made us feel at home instantly, showed us to our room which was very generous, light filled & airy. She introduced us to the other guests on a first name basis which was something we had never experienced at a motel or lodge before. It felt like a very friendly atmoshere.

Robin has to be commended not only for her extremely immaculate presentation but also for her culinary expertise. What could have been a very ordinary everyday breakfast turned out to be a gastronomic delight. She created beautiful food all produce from her garden including green striped tomatoes, free range eggs from those rambling chooks, home squeezed juices from her apple & citrus trees, red & green tomatoes from the garden & 2 different varieties of home baked bread every day. No two breakfasts were the same. At breakfast we all joined in the discussion of what everyone was going to do for the day and listened to the advice Robi gave us for different options around the area.

There is no doubt that we would love to return here one day soon. It has been a very memorable relaxing time in our
busy city lives.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fran039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

A great location in the countryside just outside Coromandel Town, with a garden that provides the ingredients for Robin's wonderful home made breakfasts. Rooms are nicely designed and furnished, and there's a large lounge where she lit a fire for us in November. Robin combines the skills of host and tour guide, and we very much enjoyed talking to her and other guests.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Unfortunately we spent only 1 night in this hidden gem. As it´s situated not directly on the main road this is a quiet and calm place with a lot of countrified atmosphere.
Robin runs this retreat with so much enthusiasm and gentleness that you feel like home as soon as you arrive. No question breakfast is superb and hints are useful. And if Robin surpisingly doesn´t know the answer to a question she´s researching in the web till you get your answer. Great lady in an outstanding lodge!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had a great time at jacaranda lodge. The owner Robin is very enthusiast and full of interesting stories about New-Zealand that she nicely shared with us during breakfast. She is also very helpful in recommending visits of coromandel region, of the beaten tracks.
The lodge is well located, clean and tidy. You need to be a morning person though as it can be a bit noisy and the curtains don't fully filter the light. But this is not really an issue when you know that a great breakfast, made by the garden products, is awaiting for you.
Really, a nice stay and thanks again to Robin for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edpetave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Outstanding experience! Clean, tidy rooms in an outstanding country setting just minutes from town. Robin, the host, couldn't be more helpful in suggesting daytime plans or places to eat. Breakfast was outstanding and made from almost all home grown fruits, veggies, eggs, and nuts. Really no reason to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Jacaranda Lodge (JL) after fond memories of our first 6 years ago. The setting is still as restful as before ands whilst there Robin was having the grass in the front paddocks cut and baled. The sight of hay bales lying in the sun was very relaxing and really gave the feel of 'down on the farm'. Robin continues to be a delightful host and thakfully the georgeous delicious homegrown and homemade breakfast were still as good as we remembered. The accomodation is upmarket and comfortable with a kitchen you can use to heat food or a fridge to keep things in. Whilst there are 2 comfortable lounges to relax in after an energetic days sightseeing. Thanks Robin for a really lovely time. (Photos to follow once I have sorted them out)

Room Tip: We love the garden room with it's own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marketkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is a gem because of the care and attention of the owner Robin. She is a tireless worker who also joins her guests for breakfast with many great tales. I am sure she would provide chicken soup if required...but breakfast is a true feast of homemade goodies and fresh produce. The rooms are clean and traditional. There are books and DVDs and much local information. A lovely start for our NZ adventures. Make sure to get robins tips for what to do with your time and where to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginnydorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
2.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.0 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
3.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Lodge

Address: 3195 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range: £77 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacaranda Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerard and Judy welcome you to their warm, spacious home surrounded by farmland and gardens. Located 3km south of Coromandel Town, Jacaranda Lodge provides the perfect escape. Relax in one of the guest lounges, stroll around the delightful gardens, experience Coromandel's walks, galleries, unique attractions and spectacular coastline. Delicious home-made continental breakfasts include fresh organic produce from Jacaranda's orchard. Large, comfortable bedrooms. Wireless internet connection. Special dietary needs catered for. Sleep, eat,enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jacaranda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing