We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jacaranda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jacaranda Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I had an absolutely magic stay at the Jacaranda Lodge. My room was spotlessly clean and Robin took all the time needed to explain to me where to go and what to see. She bakes her own bread and you get fruit from the garden and homemade jams etc. I can't thank her enough for the good time I had there. It really felt like home for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra76Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
123
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Robin owns and runs this beautiful working farm/ranch just outside Coromandel (the town). She is an energetic woman with a beautiful home with rooms up and downstairs, a grand and comfortable living room and a self-serve kitchen for early morning/afternoon/late night coffee/tea/biscuits available. The front of the house has a comfortable veranda for relaxing and enjoying the scenery. The house is set back quite a distance from the road with trees and gardens that surround the house so it is quite pleasant to relax there. My sister and I shared a bedroom upstairs (bath across the hall). The decor is fresh and in keeping with the style of the home. The rooms are all beautiful. Our beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was served on the back patio with fresh everything! Fruits, jams, chutney and flowers were all from the garden or surrounding neighbors' gardens. Before we left, Robin even helped us search for our next night's stay in Waitakere (using Trip Advisor, of course!), and then she met us for lunch in Thames since we were all heading that direction. You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Jacaranda Lodge! (I used 2 different cameras & my phone for pics - found some exterior pics and will post interior pics when I find them, but trust me, it's wonderful!)

Room Tip: All rooms looked comfortable! Far enough from the main road that both front and rear rooms are equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LokiMiloStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The proprietor was an energetic and talented cook, gardener and font of information. She had a spotless guest house. Delicious home grown produce graced many dishes on the beautifully set patio table for breakfast as well as having freshly laid eggs cooked to order. I would happily return to this homey and clean bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollymurata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was a fabulous experience. Robin runs and excellent B&B on a small farm just outside of Coromandel Town. She actually seemed to enjoy our company and visited with us when we arrived, sent us off to a great spot to watch the sunset, and went out of her way to make sure we had a full itinerary for the next day. It was fun to be there (and such a nice change from the string of somewhat sterile hotels). We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefdoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Jacaranda Lodge was a good find, owner Robin was very welcoming, into her home and also sharing her knowledge with us about the area. We arrived to the smell of bread cooking, when we arrived back from dinner in Coromandel Robin was in the garden gathering food for our breakfast. We were able to make ourselves a hot drink and have biscuits,two lounge rooms, television, movies and books to choose from. It is a beautiful residence, Robin gives her all and makes you feel at home. Breakfast was a shared table with Robin and all guests, most everything is made by Robin (a beautiful breakfast). It would of been nice to of had more than one night. Jacaranda Lodge lacks nothing, well done Robin, thankyou Susan and Carl Small,Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanS206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This after Auckland was the first stop of our three weeks in New Zealand. What a lovely beginning to our holiday. Straight away we felt very relaxed and at home. After settling in we chatted with Robyn over a cuppa and biccies. She was only too happy to point us in the right direction to get the most from our two nights in Corromendel. Such thought was put into breakfast and it was lovely to all sit on the verandah with Robyn and other guests to share advice on the day a heads activities.
I could go on but you'll get the gist that this was a splendid B and B with Robyn as the perfect host. Thank you !
Gill and Ron Oxon, UK

Room Tip: Blue room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed for two nights at Jacaranda Lodge in Coromandel in October 2012.
Robin is a wonderful host and made me feel very welcome. My stay in this wonderful accommodation was an excellent experience. The homemade breakfast with a lot of ingredients from the own garden was very delicious. I would stay here again and can really highly recommend this wonderful B&B.
Many thanks to Robin.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
2.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
11.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
480 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driving Creek Villas
Driving Creek Villas
#1 of 17 in Coromandel
129 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Lodge

Property: Jacaranda Lodge
Address: 3195 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacaranda Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerard and Judy welcome you to their warm, spacious home surrounded by farmland and gardens. Located 3km south of Coromandel Town, Jacaranda Lodge provides the perfect escape. Relax in one of the guest lounges, stroll around the delightful gardens, experience Coromandel's walks, galleries, unique attractions and spectacular coastline. Delicious home-made continental breakfasts include fresh organic produce from Jacaranda's orchard. Large, comfortable bedrooms. Wireless internet connection. Special dietary needs catered for. Sleep, eat,enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jacaranda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing