We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Gem”
Review of Jacaranda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jacaranda Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My partner and I, Canadians on a 10 day trip round the Coromandel, happen to come upon Jacaranda Lodge one day simply by accident. It is hosted by Robin, a royal gem herself, who keeps the small but quant lodge clean and welcoming. Immediately upon entering the estate you feel the love and warm, calm atmosphere that Robin creates with love. She prepares a breakfast feast of homemade preserves, fresh baked breads and special daily treats. Rooms are victorian style with either in room or out of room bathing facility. Beds are comfortable and nights are quiet as the house is set back off the main road. Plenty of fruit trees in the yard and a surreal evening setting with a glass of wine in the fresh air. We were drawn to this special location for a reason and will definitely stay here again on future visits to New Zealand. One night turned into three nights thanks to Robin for making our stay a memorable occasion.

Room Tip: Upstairs back corner room has an on-suite bath and morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiseGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacarandaLodge, Owner at Jacaranda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I am overwhelmed by your positive review and it's time to start expressing my appreciation to guests who take the time to comment on their stay. The warmth that you experience reflects my pleasure in hosting you and I hope that I can continue to offer warm, comfortable accommodation with a special touch. Thanks for choosing to stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

The lodge is in a lovely setting, well back from the road and surrounded by green fields and gardens. Lovely rooms, very clean and comfortable. Robin is a wonderful host, very interesting to chat with and keen to ensure you enjoy the beautiful Coromandel to the full. Nothing too much trouble, lots of gluten free options at breakfast and lots of delicious home made bread and preserves etc. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer had it been possible. The lodge is a little out of the town, a long walk, but worth it for total peace and quiet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A Robin, also known to be a small nice bird with a recognisable orange breast. As well as it is the name of the owner and charming hostess of this lodging. A fine house on a quite location nearby beautiful Coromandel with lovely rooms and a great house. Robin dedicates time & service to you and will make your stay and Coromandel experience great! Her breakfast is original & special, love it. Just do this!

Room Tip: If you are lucky and depending on occupation Robin let's you choose a room of your liking! All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLDB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

During our recent visit to New Zealand we travelled to the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. Arriving late afternoon in Coromandel Town, we found ourselves searching for accommadation with most places booked out due to a cycle race where 1200 cyclist had converged on the town. Panic was certainly on the cards as our party of 4 consisted of our "80 year old plus" parents as well as ourselves and we needed to find something comfortable and safe.
After a stressful 45mins of door knocking without success we found the welcoming doorstep of Jacaranda Lodge and the friendly hospitality of Robin, the proud owner. She guided us to 2 immaculate queen rooms, enhanced with lavender on the pillows and tasteful decoration, a lovely roomy bathroom to share solely between the 4 of us, plus a lounge room and kitchen to relax in --all complete with homely touches such as freshly cut garden roses, home made jams and maps galore of the local area.
Breakfast the next day was exceptional - home away from home with a banquet fit for a king --all home made using the beautiful produce from Robins' garden. She was the hostess extroidinaire sitting with us all and explaining her life in the area and giving everyone guidance as to their daily plans. "Mum and Dad “ on a holiday of a lifetime trip from the U.K to celebrate their 60th Wedding Anniversary particulary enjoyed their stay and are still talking about the lovely times at Jacaranda Lodge and the beautiful area. Robin-- you should be proud of the friendship, love and guidance you so willingly give to others--we will be back!!! hugs once more. "Thank you" is simply not enough---Sandi, Dave, Betty and Ken -- "the Pommies!!!” xxxxx

Room Tip: Every room is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Robin is a lovely host. She is very chatty, makes you feel at home very quickly, and knows a lot about the local area and will give you wonderful ideas of what to do in the beautiful town of Coromandel. It is a beautiful property, the lodge is lovely, and the gardens are great. Breakfast is just wonderful - all homemade, even down to the jams, chutneys and bread! Eggs from her own hens! And if you stay more than one night she changes things up a little so it's not exactly the same every day. If you're passing through Coromandel, don't bother trying anywhere else. The stay at Jacaranda is worth it and will only make your time in town more relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ensuite which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Nice b&b outside Coromandel. Excellent breakfast. All homemade - juices, breads, muesli, etc. Not much to see or do in this area. Robin is very helpful. She suggested Umu for dinner - very good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The whole place smells like lavender and cinnamon. Robin was interesting to talk to and very welcoming. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The chickens were adorable and we got to feed them. Perfect for a respite from busy city life. The Mussel Kitchen just a short drive or walk away serves tasty food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kailingbooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
2.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.0 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
3.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Lodge

Address: 3195 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range: £77 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacaranda Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerard and Judy welcome you to their warm, spacious home surrounded by farmland and gardens. Located 3km south of Coromandel Town, Jacaranda Lodge provides the perfect escape. Relax in one of the guest lounges, stroll around the delightful gardens, experience Coromandel's walks, galleries, unique attractions and spectacular coastline. Delicious home-made continental breakfasts include fresh organic produce from Jacaranda's orchard. Large, comfortable bedrooms. Wireless internet connection. Special dietary needs catered for. Sleep, eat,enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Jacaranda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing