We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host, great place and great view.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Auckland
1 review
“Wonderful host, great place and great view.”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

My sister and I stayed Te Kouma B&B with 2 friends in the Queen ensuite and Twin Share room for 1 night, and I can certainly say it was the highlight of our otherwise not so perfect trip. The beds were, well made, the rooms cosy, the views stunning, but it was the hosts that impressed me the most. Jo and Kurt go out of their way to make their guest feel welcome: We had gotten lost several times during the day and didn't end up returning to the B&B till almost midnight, not only did they make sure that we could get in at night but let us have breakfast later the next day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ice222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This was our first night in New Zealand and we couldn't have picked a better spot or had more friendly and welcoming hosts. As previous reviewers have said, Te Kouma has stunning views, the accommodation is very comfortable indeed and the breakfast is wonderful.
I cannot really recommend this little gem of a B&B highly enough. All our other accommodation had a very tough act to follow.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkGSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I still have the bruise on my jaw from going out of the bedroom at Te Kouma and seeing the view across the bay in front of me. Simply stunning. And, what's more, Kurt and Jo have made Te Kouma a "must stay" when you are visiting Coromandel. It and they are a delight in every way. We stayed here very early on in our recent trip to New Zealand and we could not have got off to a more perfect start. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Jo and Kurt were great hosts. Imagine sitting eating a breakfast of freshly made bread with homemade jams and marmalade with a choice of fresh fruit or home made bottled peaches,plumbs or pears with your cereal and fresh coffee and tea over looking the Coromandel Peninsula and you must be guests of Jo and Kurt . The self contained apartment was very comfortable and well appointed with its own balcony and superb views.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doris2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed in a double room with our own deck and wonderful views over the harbour; the decor was traditional and the bedroom and en-suite shower room were spotlessly clean. Kurt and Jo were charming and attentive hosts who gave us good recommendations for restaurants and activities. The house is open plan so rather than sitting in a distant dining room, we ate breakfast close to the kitchen area, which meant that Jo and Kurt could chat with us and help us with our plans for the day. The breakfasts were delicious with local fruit, home made preserves and Kurt's tasty bread.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishRuthless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We booked this B & B with no pre conceived ideas. We were more than happy with the welcome and the very comfortable room. The views from the private deck are stunning.
Breakfast with home preserves was a special feature. Jo and Kurt have extensive local knowledge which they readily share. Check out the fantastic seafood availble to purchase close by. Thank you for a lovely stay. Pauline, January 2010

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie Traveller
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed here in December, catching the ferry from Auckland right into the Coromandel Harbour and the owners picked us up from the jetty. The B&B is about 500 metres away and overlooks the whole Coromandel harbour and islands. We stayed in the queen ensuite which is nicely private with its own outside deck sitting area, and has an absolutely great bed. You can lie in bed with the french windows open and look straight out to the mussell barges working the harbour and no one can see you! There is a twin room too, plus downstairs on another level there is a fully self contained apartment. Everything is very clean and comfortable and private. The hosts are Jo (Kiwi) and husband Kurt (German) who just strike the right note. Breakfasts were a highlight because they are both into healthy foods and make their own breads, preserves and jams which we over indulged in every day. We went to the cute little railway past Coromandel town and visited Waitete Bay.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5StarSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
3.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.3 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Green House B&B
The Green House B&B
#3 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast

Property: Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Puriri Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing