We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas hospitality”
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We have just spent a lovely 4 nights with Kurt & Jo at their b&b near Coromandel town. Being away from friends and family at Christmas could have been a little lonely but we were welcomed into the warmth of the family and enjoyed a wonderful Christmas lunch and supper with them.
The house itself is in a superb location overlooking Te Kouma bay. Our room (the double ensuite) was beautifully light with stunning views of the bay and the surrounding bush which rang with the song of bellbirds and tuis.
Those who like a good strong shower won't be disappointed as it had the most amazing water pressure.
Breakfasts were a lovely social affair. Kurt bakes his own tasty bread, there are plenty of homemade preserves and fruit compotes together with cheeses, meats, etc. Jo is always on hand with great recommendations for where to eat and what to see.
All in all faultless.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardnersWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Te Kouma was the last but one stop on our tour of New Zealand, so we have had planty of experience of accommodation. The B & B was super, we stopped in a lovely room, with en-suite.

Jo and Kurt were excellent hosts, they were very informative of the local area and the wildlife.

The breakfasts were supurb, these consisted of local produce and Kurts home-made bread.
Jo was very happy to explain were the local produce came from.

It was a joy to stay at Te Kouma.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed in the self contained apparment early october. The room was very nice and spacious and the view was awesome! Waking up with birds singing and the smell of breakfast (which was delicious) were a really good start of the day. Our hostst Kurt and Jo were very friendly and told us salot about the surrounding area and New Zealand in general.
We definitely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kweenie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed in the self-contained apartment with our young child. The views from the unit - over the bay - were gorgeous. The apartment was below the main house, with its own entrance, bathroom and kitchenette. It wasn't huge, but there was enough room for our crawler to get some pent-up energy out of his system.
Kurt and Jo were very friendly and helpful, and even watched our son while we sat down for breakfast.
Te Kouma was in a peaceful little hamlet bout 5-10 mins drive from Coromandel Town, which was fine for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antipodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This is a lovely home, in a very beautiful spot. Kurt and Jo were very helpful with suggestions of what to do in the local area, which is a really stunning part of the world.

It's worth pointing out that the rooms are very much part of the main house which isn't huge. i.e. there is regular interaction with the hosts on arriving/departing, breakfast etc, so it won't be suitable if you appreciate a more private stay (but I guess in that case you should really avoid B&Bs!).

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

My sister and I stayed Te Kouma B&B with 2 friends in the Queen ensuite and Twin Share room for 1 night, and I can certainly say it was the highlight of our otherwise not so perfect trip. The beds were, well made, the rooms cosy, the views stunning, but it was the hosts that impressed me the most. Jo and Kurt go out of their way to make their guest feel welcome: We had gotten lost several times during the day and didn't end up returning to the B&B till almost midnight, not only did they make sure that we could get in at night but let us have breakfast later the next day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ice222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This was our first night in New Zealand and we couldn't have picked a better spot or had more friendly and welcoming hosts. As previous reviewers have said, Te Kouma has stunning views, the accommodation is very comfortable indeed and the breakfast is wonderful.
I cannot really recommend this little gem of a B&B highly enough. All our other accommodation had a very tough act to follow.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkGSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
3.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.3 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
340 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
195 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
3.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast

Property: Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Puriri Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing