We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coromandel Tui Lodge
uk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice place.”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a very nice hostel with lovely gardens and close to town. The owner, however, seemed a little confused. He forgot to take money from us, i had to remind him. We asked about the internet that is advertised on posters around the place, he had no idea about that and I had to wait until his wife got home from work to get a simple password from her. I'm not sure he should be running the place!

It is all very clean though, and the washing machine is free.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreadheadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
29
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

So me and my friend are 18 an d 19 and have seen a lot of hostels during our travels and this place was one of our favorites. At the lodge we were staying in a tent and I didnt have a pillow or sleeping bag. The lady running the hostel gave me a pillow, a blanket, and let a bunch of us stay inside later then stated just so we could countinue enjoying our night. She was like my new zealand mom! Tui lodge has beautiful gardens and couches everywhere. Its really open! Plus there was free bikes and she helped us book buses and everything. There was even a live band playing!! I wish I would have stayed longer, I miss it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Really nice staff. Very friendly and up for a chat if you want one.

We came intending to stay one night and ended up staying three. They let us pitch our tent in the garden which not many hostels will let you do.

The hostel is so cosy and comfy, everywhere you turn there is a sofa or comfy armchair.

We left to go join our friends for work but wished we had stayed and found work there.

They also have free tea and coffee, free laundry and free bicycles to borrow.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_fleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed here for one night, had a lovely room that was immaculately clean and very cosy. There were nice shared areas with internet and tv and lots of books and magazines. The lady who runs this place is very kind and helpful.... one of the best places we stayed in three months of travelling.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandrahaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed here 1 night in a Double Ensuite room (#12) while seeing the Coromandel Peninsula. Our room was clean and comfortable and a great value considering the cost of motels in the area. It's located just outside of the main street and could be walkable to town without a car. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the kitchen facilities and broadband internet is only available in an outside for $3/30 mins. Our only complaint was our room was next to a kitchen which was a bit loud at night. Great option for a 1 night stay while exploring the area!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denver_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mugla, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The first thing that strikes you is the peaceful, colourful and beautifully well maintained garden that also boasts a sauna and several pleasant seating and grassy areas.
The bed and bath rooms and just as importantly the communal kitchens are absolutely spotless. There are en-suites rooms and dorm beds available.
Free bikes and helmets are available for residents to use during the day and Tui Lodge is just a short bike ride (or walk) to the town which has a great butchers where you can buy meat to take back and barbeque in the garden.
Rooms have a tv and radio and that are lots of little touches that show attention to detail by the family who own and run Tui Lodge. We found them friendly and helpful.
Great location to use as a base especially if you have a car and ensuite double rooms were very reasonably priced at $75.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Our double ensuite room was $75 which seemed a bit expensive for what we got. Our bathroom opened up into the communal courtyard so anyone could come into our room or bathroom at anytime, even if the main door was locked. The beds were soft but comfortable. The kitchen was clean and had ample cooking supplies.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
11.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
243 reviews
11.5 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers
On the Beach Backpackers
#7 of 23 in Whitianga
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coromandel Tui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Tui Lodge

Property: Coromandel Tui Lodge
Address: 60-B Whangapoua Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tui Lodge is located on the outskirts of Coromandel Town. We have a large orchard area which is used for camping. There are lots of outdoor garden areas to enjoy/ BBQ's for your convenience and free laundry. We have bikes for guests to use around town. Fruit in season for guests to eat. Fish cleaning area and plenty of paking for cars and boats. Rooms range from dorms, caravan, share, queen rooms to ensuite rooms. Two large well equiped kitchens and a communal lounge room and outdoor/indoor gazebo area. There are many walkways in the area and many other interesting activities to do around Coromandel Town. Come and relax at Tui Lodge while you travel out beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coromandel Tui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing