We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coromandel Tui Lodge
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Centrally located hostel and campsite with focus on comfort, for example, hammocks outside and 1970s cosy sofas in the livingroom. The kitchen is clean and I loved the coordinating crockery, which made it felt more homely. The owner came by to wash the tea towels too.

There might be an issue about space and storage in the room.I was staying in a triple room with 3 single beds and there wasn't much space for our bags and we were only 2 people, so with 3 it would have been on the full side. Also, although there was a curtain across the main window, there was a small triangular window above it without curtains, so an eyemask might be advisable. The steps up to the room are also quite steep and as soon as you come out from the room, so beware. The bathroom is fine - a shower room, next to a room with a toilet and sink. As it's low season they had locked the other bathroom.

Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulepNoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
29
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at Tui Lodge as we were making a special trip to Coromandel (from Auckland) and needed a place to stay that could accommodate different family groups as well as singles, and had enough room for guests. The owners were so lovely, staying up late for our check in and ensuring we had everything we needed. As we have a toddler, we booked a room with an ensuite, which was excellent (lovely shower!) but the rooms with shared bathrooms were also perfectly suitable for other guests in our group.
The lodge is well equipped for differing needs, as well as us there were several backpackers, either in bunk rooms, tents or camper vans. There are two kitchens and a washing machine, everything we needed was provided. Plenty of utensils and fridge space for everyone.
There is also a trampoline and swing/slide set for the kids, as well as bikes and a basketball hoop.
We hosted a BBQ with guests and once again the hosts were completely helpful, ensuring we had everything and even bringing out a second BBQ for us to use. The outdoor area is lovely and spacious, it was a great venue for us.
The vibe is relaxed and everyone was very friendly, we met several of the backpackers from Germany and France, who all enjoyed our Kiwi BBQ!
Coromandel Township is very close by, walking or biking distance.
Our son also enjoyed the cows, sheep and feijoa trees!
Thanks again for a wonderful stay, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was the best backpackers we stayed in so friendly and relaxing. The grounds are fantastic and the location quiet but within walking distance of the town.Our en-suite room was spacious and well furnished,a queensize bed,bedside tables,our own tea and coffee and a settee on which to sit to watch the digital TV.
The kitchen though small has all that is needed and the lounges are very comfortable
Free use of the washing machine is a bonus and there is plenty of room to hang the washing
We will return if we are in that area again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a very nice hostel with lovely gardens and close to town. The owner, however, seemed a little confused. He forgot to take money from us, i had to remind him. We asked about the internet that is advertised on posters around the place, he had no idea about that and I had to wait until his wife got home from work to get a simple password from her. I'm not sure he should be running the place!

It is all very clean though, and the washing machine is free.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreadheadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

So me and my friend are 18 an d 19 and have seen a lot of hostels during our travels and this place was one of our favorites. At the lodge we were staying in a tent and I didnt have a pillow or sleeping bag. The lady running the hostel gave me a pillow, a blanket, and let a bunch of us stay inside later then stated just so we could countinue enjoying our night. She was like my new zealand mom! Tui lodge has beautiful gardens and couches everywhere. Its really open! Plus there was free bikes and she helped us book buses and everything. There was even a live band playing!! I wish I would have stayed longer, I miss it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Really nice staff. Very friendly and up for a chat if you want one.

We came intending to stay one night and ended up staying three. They let us pitch our tent in the garden which not many hostels will let you do.

The hostel is so cosy and comfy, everywhere you turn there is a sofa or comfy armchair.

We left to go join our friends for work but wished we had stayed and found work there.

They also have free tea and coffee, free laundry and free bicycles to borrow.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_fleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed here for one night, had a lovely room that was immaculately clean and very cosy. There were nice shared areas with internet and tv and lots of books and magazines. The lady who runs this place is very kind and helpful.... one of the best places we stayed in three months of travelling.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandrahaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tidewater Motel & Tourist Park
11.5 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers
On the Beach Backpackers
#7 of 23 in Whitianga
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coromandel Tui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Tui Lodge

Property: Coromandel Tui Lodge
Address: 60-B Whangapoua Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tui Lodge is located on the outskirts of Coromandel Town. We have a large orchard area which is used for camping. There are lots of outdoor garden areas to enjoy/ BBQ's for your convenience and free laundry. We have bikes for guests to use around town. Fruit in season for guests to eat. Fish cleaning area and plenty of paking for cars and boats. Rooms range from dorms, caravan, share, queen rooms to ensuite rooms. Two large well equiped kitchens and a communal lounge room and outdoor/indoor gazebo area. There are many walkways in the area and many other interesting activities to do around Coromandel Town. Come and relax at Tui Lodge while you travel out beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coromandel Tui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing