We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Things Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Green House B&B
Ranked #3 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All Things Comfortable”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Malcolm and Denise have created a traveler's retreat. When we arrived we took a quick rest and all of a sudden the smell of fresh bread came wafting up from the kitchen. The upstairs lounge was complete with fresh baked goods, coffee, teas, and port. The rooms are comfortable, bright, and well appointed. Breakfast is an event. Denise makes her own granola, yogurt, and jams. She highlights locally grown produce, local cheeses and eggs. Malcolm is a wealth of information for local attractions and directions. If you are in the area the Green House needs to be on your list.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
What a pleasure it is to receive such glowing comments. Thank you so much for your recommendation. Denise and I always endeavour to make everyone's stay as enjoyable and stress free as possible. The little extras such as the home baking and the port are things that we love to encounter when we travel. When most guests have so little time with us out of a very busy itninerary, we feel it is important to direct them to the best the peninsula has to offer to make the most of their time. We are so pleased you found this beneficial. Kind regards. Malcolm & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
81
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to this lovely B&B. Once again, the friendly owners really made us feel welcome. The room was extremely comfortable, with lots of special touches. In addition, the breakfast was just superb, including homemade bread and preserves.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KenBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It was a pleasure to host you once more. Thank you so much for choosing us again and for taking the time to write another positive review. It is very much appreciated. We both look forward to the next time. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

From our initial contact with Denise and Malcolm, we were thrilled. They were extremely responsive and answered any and all questions we had without any delay. When we arrived at the home I was immediately impressed by the gorgeous succulent garden at the tiny fish pond. Upon entering we were taken to our bedroom upstairs which had a great view of the water, not to forget the wonderful view out of our bathroom, of a neighbor's field with about 4 happy head of cattle. The room was impeccably clean - spotless to say the least. I tiny posy of sweet peas next to our bed greeted us with their fragrant scent, along with 2 chocolates. In the communal living room upstairs we were treated to port and wonderful home baked banana bread. Provided too were some shortbread cookies that we could enjoy with the tea and coffee provided.

Breakfast was amazing! Practically everything was homemade including all 4 preserves, the bread as well as the Greek yogurt. Muesli, granola and another cold cereal was provided along with a choice of numerous juices. The real treat for me was the fact that they went out of their way to cater to my vegan diet, buying tofu which they were more than eager to stir fry for me and providing Soy milk as well. Hubby was happy with the scrambled eggs, a variety of cold meats and 2 types of locally produced gouda cheese. The table setting was awesome.

A binder was provided in the room with any and all information to make the stay memorable. Little touches like providing a flashlight on the bedside cabinet ( night stand) in the unlikely event of a power outage, are a clear indication of the lengths that the owners go to, paying attention to all minor details.

Truly a memorable stay and one that I'd highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Wow!!! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your tight schedule to write such an extensive review. You too have not left any stone unturned. It was a shame you could only stay the one night as I would love to have had the opportunity to pratice a few more Vegan recipes. Your visit has made me realise that there are a lot more vegetarians and vegans out there that need catering for and we could do more to accommodate their needs. Some bedtime reading is required I think. It was lovely meeting you both and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. Best wishes. Malcolm & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The sea view room that we stayed in was stunning; in its amazing view in its cleanliness, comfort and service. Denise and Malcolm are perfect hosts who are very helpful and knowledgeable about the local attractions. The breakfast is divine, as they make their own jams and preserves from their own fruit trees and bake their own bread. Everything about the green house was comforting and relaxing at a reasonable price. Five stars. 

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Denise and I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review especially one so glowing. It is very rewarding to know what we provide has made your stay both enjoyable and memorable. That is our constant aim. Denise and I both enjoyed your company tremendously and look forward to meeting again in the future. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Nice accommodation with a spacious guest lounge and use of a computer if required. The room had views across the road to the sea through room wide windows. The bathroom was spacious and modern. We were able to walk into town to get something to eat, the actual town is very small with not a lot going on.
Breakfast was fine, cereal, meats and cheese and cooked if wanted.
Informative owners who were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slugspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review during your whistle-stop tour of NZ. Your comments are much appreciated. Yes, we do have a computer for guest use but we also have Wi-Fi which is also complimentary.
The town is very small but graced with a selection of excellent cafes, restaurants and art & craft galleries. There is entertainment in the evenings at the pubs but you will not find night clubs.
There is an awful lot to do and see in and around Coromandel - however, one really needs 2 or 3 nights stay to discover and appreciate it all.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights here and would happily have stayed longer if time had allowed.
Denise and Malcolm are great hosts providing a warm and friendly atmosphere with all the small details and extras that go to make your stay special.......yummy scones and homemade jam to welcome us amongst them. Excellent breakfast to start the day off.
We had the back room with the deck, great to sit out when you get back from a day out and about. There is a great view of the bay from the guest lounge which we had to ourselves being the only guests at the time.
There is plenty to do in the area, Malcolm made several helpful suggestions. We had a great walk at 'the north end' of the peninsula...the coastal scenery is spectacular

Room Tip: The back room gives you the best of both views as you can see the bay from the lounge.however for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Denise and Malcolm were wonderful hosts, its the small details, the little extras that go such a long way, especially when you compare it to hotel/motel experiences. We loved the room, so comfortable with exquisite bedding. The breakfast was superb and plentiful, and the garden with all of the fruit trees is so relaxing. The icing on the cake was the views over the bay. We would recommend this B and B to everyone, and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Whilst we always do our very best to make sure our guests have a comfortable stay, it is the interaction with our guests that we value most highly. We loved having you stay with us and enjoyed your company tremendously. We both look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
77 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House B&B

Property: The Green House B&B
Address: 505 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Green House B&B, we pride ourselves in supplying more than comfortable home-from-home style accommodation. You will find a friendly and accommodating welcome. It is our aim to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We are happy to book attractions or restaurants for you and have a growing knowledge of the area enabling us to advise you on how to best use the time you have available. We have two en-suite double rooms available. Breakfast includes freshly baked bread, a choice of fruit juices, a selection of cereals, home-made yogurt, a selection of fruit mostly from the owner's garden, a meat and cheese platter plus the option of eggs prepared to your taste. We can now offer mountain bikes for guest use. Free view TV in the guest lounge and in all rooms. With your smart phone you can use our chromecast gadget to access chromecast settings - youtube, anything you can see on your smart phone, your netflix account and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Green House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing