We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Green House B&B
Ranked #3 of 15 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Green House B&B in Coromandel is a warm and comfortable place to stay in a very friendly environment of Coromandel Town. The rooms are spacious and well arranged, and Denise and Malcolm do a wonderful job of making you feel at home, plus their breakfasts are delicious. It's a perfect spot to wander around the town, hike the Coromandel Coastal Track or just relax and breathe in the ocean air. We greatly enjoyed our stay there and highly recommend The Green House B&B if you are in the Coromandel area of the North Island of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for recommending us to fellow travellers. Denise and I love hosting people from all over the world and are delighted that you appreciate our efforts. Thank you again. Best wishes. Malcolm & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Malcolm and Denise have created a traveler's retreat. When we arrived we took a quick rest and all of a sudden the smell of fresh bread came wafting up from the kitchen. The upstairs lounge was complete with fresh baked goods, coffee, teas, and port. The rooms are comfortable, bright, and well appointed. Breakfast is an event. Denise makes her own granola, yogurt, and jams. She highlights locally grown produce, local cheeses and eggs. Malcolm is a wealth of information for local attractions and directions. If you are in the area the Green House needs to be on your list.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

What a pleasure it is to receive such glowing comments. Thank you so much for your recommendation. Denise and I always endeavour to make everyone's stay as enjoyable and stress free as possible. The little extras such as the home baking and the port are things that we love to encounter when we travel. When most guests have so little time with us out of a very busy itninerary, we feel it is important to direct them to the best the peninsula has to offer to make the most of their time. We are so pleased you found this beneficial. Kind regards. Malcolm & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our second visit to this lovely B&B. Once again, the friendly owners really made us feel welcome. The room was extremely comfortable, with lots of special touches. In addition, the breakfast was just superb, including homemade bread and preserves.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KenBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

It was a pleasure to host you once more. Thank you so much for choosing us again and for taking the time to write another positive review. It is very much appreciated. We both look forward to the next time. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

From our initial contact with Denise and Malcolm, we were thrilled. They were extremely responsive and answered any and all questions we had without any delay. When we arrived at the home I was immediately impressed by the gorgeous succulent garden at the tiny fish pond. Upon entering we were taken to our bedroom upstairs which had a great view of the water, not to forget the wonderful view out of our bathroom, of a neighbor's field with about 4 happy head of cattle. The room was impeccably clean - spotless to say the least. I tiny posy of sweet peas next to our bed greeted us with their fragrant scent, along with 2 chocolates. In the communal living room upstairs we were treated to port and wonderful home baked banana bread. Provided too were some shortbread cookies that we could enjoy with the tea and coffee provided.

Breakfast was amazing! Practically everything was homemade including all 4 preserves, the bread as well as the Greek yogurt. Muesli, granola and another cold cereal was provided along with a choice of numerous juices. The real treat for me was the fact that they went out of their way to cater to my vegan diet, buying tofu which they were more than eager to stir fry for me and providing Soy milk as well. Hubby was happy with the scrambled eggs, a variety of cold meats and 2 types of locally produced gouda cheese. The table setting was awesome.

A binder was provided in the room with any and all information to make the stay memorable. Little touches like providing a flashlight on the bedside cabinet ( night stand) in the unlikely event of a power outage, are a clear indication of the lengths that the owners go to, paying attention to all minor details.

Truly a memorable stay and one that I'd highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Wow!!! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your tight schedule to write such an extensive review. You too have not left any stone unturned. It was a shame you could only stay the one night as I would love to have had the opportunity to pratice a few more Vegan recipes. Your visit has made me realise that there are a lot more vegetarians and vegans out there that need catering for and we could do more to accommodate their needs. Some bedtime reading is required I think. It was lovely meeting you both and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. Best wishes. Malcolm & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The sea view room that we stayed in was stunning; in its amazing view in its cleanliness, comfort and service. Denise and Malcolm are perfect hosts who are very helpful and knowledgeable about the local attractions. The breakfast is divine, as they make their own jams and preserves from their own fruit trees and bake their own bread. Everything about the green house was comforting and relaxing at a reasonable price. Five stars. 

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Denise and I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review especially one so glowing. It is very rewarding to know what we provide has made your stay both enjoyable and memorable. That is our constant aim. Denise and I both enjoyed your company tremendously and look forward to meeting again in the future. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Nice accommodation with a spacious guest lounge and use of a computer if required. The room had views across the road to the sea through room wide windows. The bathroom was spacious and modern. We were able to walk into town to get something to eat, the actual town is very small with not a lot going on.
Breakfast was fine, cereal, meats and cheese and cooked if wanted.
Informative owners who were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slugspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review during your whistle-stop tour of NZ. Your comments are much appreciated. Yes, we do have a computer for guest use but we also have Wi-Fi which is also complimentary.
The town is very small but graced with a selection of excellent cafes, restaurants and art & craft galleries. There is entertainment in the evenings at the pubs but you will not find night clubs.
There is an awful lot to do and see in and around Coromandel - however, one really needs 2 or 3 nights stay to discover and appreciate it all.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights here and would happily have stayed longer if time had allowed.
Denise and Malcolm are great hosts providing a warm and friendly atmosphere with all the small details and extras that go to make your stay special.......yummy scones and homemade jam to welcome us amongst them. Excellent breakfast to start the day off.
We had the back room with the deck, great to sit out when you get back from a day out and about. There is a great view of the bay from the guest lounge which we had to ourselves being the only guests at the time.
There is plenty to do in the area, Malcolm made several helpful suggestions. We had a great walk at 'the north end' of the peninsula...the coastal scenery is spectacular

Room Tip: The back room gives you the best of both views as you can see the bay from the lounge.however for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#1 of 15 in Coromandel
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#2 of 15 in Coromandel
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
354 reviews
1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House B&B

Address: 505 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range: £94 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Green House B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Green House B&B, we pride ourselves in supplying more than comfortable home-from-home style accommodation. You will find a friendly and accommodating welcome. It is our aim to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We are happy to book attractions or restaurants for you and have a growing knowledge of the area enabling us to advise you on how to best use the time you have available. We have two en-suite double rooms available. Breakfast includes freshly baked bread, a choice of fruit juices, a selection of cereals, home-made yogurt, a selection of fruit mostly from the owner's garden, a meat and cheese platter plus the option of eggs prepared to your taste. We can now offer mountain bikes for guest use. Free view TV in the guest lounge and in all rooms. With your smart phone you can use our chromecast gadget to access chromecast settings - youtube, anything you can see on your smart phone, your netflix account and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Green House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing