We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Green House B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Olive Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Coromandel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel Court Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
103
11
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesguest loungewonderful breakfasthome madedelightful hostsevery afternoonlocal attractionsfirst floortheir beautiful homegave us great tipsgreat recommendationsin easy walking distancelittle extrasgreat roomnew zealandfruit salada wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Malcolm and Denise have created a traveler's retreat. When we arrived we took a quick rest and all of a sudden the smell of fresh bread came wafting up from the kitchen. The upstairs lounge was complete with fresh baked goods, coffee, teas, and port. The rooms are comfortable, bright, and well appointed. Breakfast is an event. Denise makes her own granola, yogurt, and jams. She highlights locally grown produce, local cheeses and eggs. Malcolm is a wealth of information for local attractions and directions. If you are in the area the Green House needs to be on your list.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

What a pleasure it is to receive such glowing comments. Thank you so much for your recommendation. Denise and I always endeavour to make everyone's stay as enjoyable and stress free as possible. The little extras such as the home baking and the port are things that we love to encounter when we travel. When most guests have so little time with us out of a very busy itninerary, we feel it is important to direct them to the best the peninsula has to offer to make the most of their time. We are so pleased you found this beneficial. Kind regards. Malcolm & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our second visit to this lovely B&B. Once again, the friendly owners really made us feel welcome. The room was extremely comfortable, with lots of special touches. In addition, the breakfast was just superb, including homemade bread and preserves.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KenBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

It was a pleasure to host you once more. Thank you so much for choosing us again and for taking the time to write another positive review. It is very much appreciated. We both look forward to the next time. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

From our initial contact with Denise and Malcolm, we were thrilled. They were extremely responsive and answered any and all questions we had without any delay. When we arrived at the home I was immediately impressed by the gorgeous succulent garden at the tiny fish pond. Upon entering we were taken to our bedroom upstairs which had a great view of the water, not to forget the wonderful view out of our bathroom, of a neighbor's field with about 4 happy head of cattle. The room was impeccably clean - spotless to say the least. I tiny posy of sweet peas next to our bed greeted us with their fragrant scent, along with 2 chocolates. In the communal living room upstairs we were treated to port and wonderful home baked banana bread. Provided too were some shortbread cookies that we could enjoy with the tea and coffee provided.

Breakfast was amazing! Practically everything was homemade including all 4 preserves, the bread as well as the Greek yogurt. Muesli, granola and another cold cereal was provided along with a choice of numerous juices. The real treat for me was the fact that they went out of their way to cater to my vegan diet, buying tofu which they were more than eager to stir fry for me and providing Soy milk as well. Hubby was happy with the scrambled eggs, a variety of cold meats and 2 types of locally produced gouda cheese. The table setting was awesome.

A binder was provided in the room with any and all information to make the stay memorable. Little touches like providing a flashlight on the bedside cabinet ( night stand) in the unlikely event of a power outage, are a clear indication of the lengths that the owners go to, paying attention to all minor details.

Truly a memorable stay and one that I'd highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Wow!!! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your tight schedule to write such an extensive review. You too have not left any stone unturned. It was a shame you could only stay the one night as I would love to have had the opportunity to pratice a few more Vegan recipes. Your visit has made me realise that there are a lot more vegetarians and vegans out there that need catering for and we could do more to accommodate their needs. Some bedtime reading is required I think. It was lovely meeting you both and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. Best wishes. Malcolm & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The sea view room that we stayed in was stunning; in its amazing view in its cleanliness, comfort and service. Denise and Malcolm are perfect hosts who are very helpful and knowledgeable about the local attractions. The breakfast is divine, as they make their own jams and preserves from their own fruit trees and bake their own bread. Everything about the green house was comforting and relaxing at a reasonable price. Five stars. 

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Denise and I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review especially one so glowing. It is very rewarding to know what we provide has made your stay both enjoyable and memorable. That is our constant aim. Denise and I both enjoyed your company tremendously and look forward to meeting again in the future. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Nice accommodation with a spacious guest lounge and use of a computer if required. The room had views across the road to the sea through room wide windows. The bathroom was spacious and modern. We were able to walk into town to get something to eat, the actual town is very small with not a lot going on.
Breakfast was fine, cereal, meats and cheese and cooked if wanted.
Informative owners who were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slugspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review during your whistle-stop tour of NZ. Your comments are much appreciated. Yes, we do have a computer for guest use but we also have Wi-Fi which is also complimentary.
The town is very small but graced with a selection of excellent cafes, restaurants and art & craft galleries. There is entertainment in the evenings at the pubs but you will not find night clubs.
There is an awful lot to do and see in and around Coromandel - however, one really needs 2 or 3 nights stay to discover and appreciate it all.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews