We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driving Creek Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

In a beautiful setting, the villa is tastefully decorated, looking as if it has just recently been built. The quality and facilities in the villa are excellent, the heated bathroom floor and the Japanese hot tub outside little touches of luxury. You feel secluded but not isolated, the local cafes and restaurants are definitely worth a visit. We loved our stay here so much we booked in for another night while we were here. The excellent rating for these villas are well deserved.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Dry Creek Villas is one of those places that the minute you enter the property you realize that you have made an excellent choice. Secluded and peaceful the cottages have complete privacy. The modern interior is tasteful and stylish the open plan kitchen and lounge is huge making you feel so relaxed. The bedrooms are a good size with crisp clean linen. Cleanliness is evident throughout wherever you look. The huge bathroom with heated floors could easily take the whole family !! The wooden outside patio is a great place to reflect anytime of the day with the truly beautiful melodic songs of the abundant birdlife. A great place to stay and unwind while in the Coromandel....... superb !!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Dera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Had a great stay at Driving Creek Villa, a superb place with all modern conveniences, a tranquil villa with a character. And the hot tub is just brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Its been 5 years since we stayed at Driving Creek Villas and i'm pleased to say it was just as we remembered it - peaceful, quiet and an all round excellent experience !! .

We were a family of 4 - ( 5yr old and 9yr Old) and it was just the right type of accommodation for us - self catering , spacious, private with all mod cons (including the hot tub) . Its also perfectly situated by Driving Creek itself ....

Located only a few minutes from Coromandel Town - Its also the the perfect base for seeing some of the sights of the Coromandel - Favourites being the beaches at Whangapoua and New Chums.

David is the perfect host ...... I cant recommend this place highly enough

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Very comfortable, extremely well appointed villa, all modern cons, great kitchen, big barbeque, hot tub to die for. It was more than we expected!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This place certainly lived up to expectations. The villa was impressive, tastefully furnished, spacious and well equipped with fixtures and fittings to a high standard. The villas are private and the setting is peaceful and secluded without being isolated. The outside hot tub is a nice touch and a pleasant way to while away some time watching the stars. Coromandel Town is about 5 minutes drive / 25 minutes level walk and there's plenty of stunning coastal scenery on both sides of the peninsular to explore. I'd certainly recommend Driving Creek Villas, this may not be the cheapest place you stay, but worth the premium if you're looking for something exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaside-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Lovely villa in beautiful setting. Secluded private garden complete with hot tub. Weather wasn't great but it was a really cosy and comfortable place to be.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
1.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
1.5 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Little Farm, Coromandel
The Little Farm, Coromandel
#14 of 17 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driving Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driving Creek Villas

Property: Driving Creek Villas
Address: 21A Colville Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Driving Creek Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, private bush surrounds, our spacious, fully self-contained boutique villas offer the perfect accommodation to unwind - beside the meandering Coromandel stream where gold was first discovered in New Zealand over 150 years ago. Purpose-built to a high standard, Driving Creek Villas combine colourful pacific themes with modern styling, providing a Coromandel luxury accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Driving Creek Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing