We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful perfection.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driving Creek Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful perfection.”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The facility offers private, modern cottages on lovely quiet grounds. You hear the birds and a lovely stream while being surrounded in solitude. There is plenty to do in the area. The Driving Creek Railroad is not to be missed and if you choose not to cook yourself there are nice restaurant and cafe's close by.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyRice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in the Kaipawa villa for two nights to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary - and didn't want to leave! Quiet, beautiful, serene environment with fantastic facilities - especially the hot tub! Highly recommend lunch at the Mussel Kitchen and the goodies at the Coromandel Smoking Co. David is fantastic, non-intrusive host.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in the middle Villa for couple of nights. The Villas are in a gorgeous, quiet, secluded bush setting. The accommodation is relaxed, comfortable, clean and modern. Kitchen is well equipped and feels like home-from-home. We loved the hot tub, and being blessed with good weather made good use of it! If you're after peace and quiet, away from Auckland, and a bit of luxury - this is a perfect getaway. David was the perfect host - helpful, friendly, but left us too it. Sorry it's taken a while to write this. Thinking about visiting again this coming summer .... so this review is overdue!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

For us , for a short stay or a longer stay this is perfect, 2 1/2 hrs nice drive from Auckland, quiet, private, comfortable, fully equipped and with the advantage of the surrounding bush and bays, beautiful walks and great amenities in the township 2 or 3 km's away. The owner David keeps a very low profile !

Room Tip: There are three well designed villas here, two are identical in layout, we have stayed in both and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ava_seymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

we booked at Driving Creek Villas as a nice spot to stay while on a fishing trip. The villas were sensational, plenty of room, well appointed, quiet and exceptionally private
nothing beats coming back from a cold days fishing and being able to warm up in a beautiful cedar hottub.

would recommend this place to anyone looking for a private coromandel luxury hideaway

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at Driving Creek Villas for 2 nights in April. The villa provided everything we needed for our stay and more that we did not have time to make use of. Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise at night. There were also two single beds upstairs which would make this suitable accommodation for a family. David met us when we arrived and provided us with very useful information about the location that helped us to make the most of our short visit to Coromandel. He also recommended that we eat at the Thai restaurant at Driving Creek Lodge. We did this and enjoyed an excellent meal in wonderful surroundings. The villa has bikes to use which we would have loved to make use of but just did not have the time. It also has a hot tub outside which is very peaceful. Overall, I would recommend Driving Creek Villas as a top quality accommodation in a great area of New Zealand to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warcnala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

In a beautiful setting, the villa is tastefully decorated, looking as if it has just recently been built. The quality and facilities in the villa are excellent, the heated bathroom floor and the Japanese hot tub outside little touches of luxury. You feel secluded but not isolated, the local cafes and restaurants are definitely worth a visit. We loved our stay here so much we booked in for another night while we were here. The excellent rating for these villas are well deserved.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
12.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
15.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driving Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driving Creek Villas

Property: Driving Creek Villas
Address: 21A Colville Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Driving Creek Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, private bush surrounds, our spacious, fully self-contained boutique villas offer the perfect accommodation to unwind - beside the meandering Coromandel stream where gold was first discovered in New Zealand over 150 years ago. Purpose-built to a high standard, Driving Creek Villas combine colourful pacific themes with modern styling, providing a Coromandel luxury accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Driving Creek Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing