We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Driving Creek Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked a 2 night stay in Jan 2014. Stayed in Kaipawa villa: villas are identical and Kaipawa is at the end of the property so absolutely private. The villa is extremely well equipped, everything you need. The hot tub was great (though the mozzies had a feast on me!) . It's only a couple of minutes drive to Coromandel town. We used this as a base for exploring the peninsula. It's just a shame we didnt have longer to enjoy this property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Driving Creek Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

What a find. We came here based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. Setting is magical, and very private. Excellent villa, with beautiful new appliances and furnishings. An incredibly peaceful place. Very clean, comfortable, accessible to town. Just beautiful, and the birds were free!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RecentlyRetired2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

the perfect VILLA with complete privacy, garden & jungle around, a hot tub and great facilities.
Great rooms, charming design, very cosy.
We were 2 adult & 2 children & stayed for 2 nights. Great cookings, BBQ - driving creek train just a t walking distance. To recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed there on 21st dec 2013 till 23rd dec 2013. Perfect place to get away. We drove in and the keys were placed for us and a note at the entrance stated where to find them with a welcome note. It was home away from home, small yard, kitchen facing the mountains, outdoor hot tub. Away from the road so all you hear was nature.
Great job David, we loved it...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank francisamarsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Driving Creek Villas in September and really enjoyed it. Fabulous setting amongst the bush and so private. Really enjoyed the Japanese hot tub which sets Driving Creek villas apart from other accommodation! The villa was so warm and inviting with the lovely wooden floors and joinery with lots of light making you feel cosy and warm along with the heat pump. There was nothing they didn't provide from muffins on arrival to dvds to watch! Very close to Driving Creek railways and Coromandel Town. Beautiful setting and fabulous views, spotlessly clean - a real home away from home. We are glad we choose Driving Creek villas and would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drinkh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

For a stress free break from the city, leave your car behind, catch the ferry to Coromandel and relax with a stay at Driving Creek Villas. Your host David Foreman will collect you from the ferry, stop off in town for necessary supplies and deliver you to your villa - tasteful, discrete, warm and welcoming just out of the township. Bikes are avilable to get you into town or out and about. Or you can just relax in the bush setting with the Driving Creek stream running past at the foot of the landscaped garden. The Driving Creek Pottery and Railway is just a short walk up the road with the quirky Driving Creek Cafe providing great coffee and food en route. It really is a stress buster......

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed at the Driving Creek Villas in the Tokatea Villa during the weekend of my wedding in March. On the night before my wedding I stayed with my 3 bridesmaids and on my wedding night I stayed with my husband. Everything about it was just great. We ended up having some of our wedding photos taken in the gorgeous grounds and they've turned out beautifully. The house was beautifully clean and comfortable and was the perfect place to get ready for my wedding.

I have to note how incredibly comfortable the beds were. The double bed which I slept in on both nights was so comfortable and I had a pretty good nights sleep on both nights despite my obvious excitement and nerves.

Overall the Driving Creek Villas was a fantastic place to stay, perfect for anyone from a family to a bridal party!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank chuckfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
81 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
14.2 mi away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 23 in Whitianga
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driving Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driving Creek Villas

Address: 21A Colville Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range: £172 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Driving Creek Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, private bush surrounds, our spacious, fully self-contained boutique villas offer the perfect accommodation to unwind - beside the meandering Coromandel stream where gold was first discovered in New Zealand over 150 years ago. Purpose-built to a high standard, Driving Creek Villas combine colourful pacific themes with modern styling, providing a Coromandel luxury accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Driving Creek Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing