We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driving Creek Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We don’t normally write reviews on the properties that we stay at but felt we had to for this particular property. Our first comments when we arrived were “we should have booked this place for the whole week, rather than just the weekend”. It’s everything that you could want, for a quiet, secluded break. We stayed in the Moehau Villa which was large, well furnished and stocked with everything that you need. It has a grassed garden area which is completely private with a large deck, BBQ, table, loungers and hot tub and only a two hour ferry ride from Auckland. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CH760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and spent two idyllic nights at this sheltered Eden away from the noise and bustle of the city.
The Villa, with outdoor hot tub, BBQ, tree clad surrounds was as private and peaceful as an island and is only 1 hours travel from almost everywhere up the peninsula, 15 minute walk from first class restaurant and charming bars and shops.
Fully self catering meant a drink in the hot tub, BBQ steak, and for the bored, a selection of movies and SKY TV.

Room Tip: Take your small necessities, like Vegemite, great breakfast on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbsteraged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The 3 Driving Creek Villas are beautifully placed in very secluded quiet spots and are set in some stunning NZ native bush. They are very spacious, the internet is perfect, the Weber BBQ's are fantastic and yes, we will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked a 2 night stay in Jan 2014. Stayed in Kaipawa villa: villas are identical and Kaipawa is at the end of the property so absolutely private. The villa is extremely well equipped, everything you need. The hot tub was great (though the mozzies had a feast on me!) . It's only a couple of minutes drive to Coromandel town. We used this as a base for exploring the peninsula. It's just a shame we didnt have longer to enjoy this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

What a find. We came here based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. Setting is magical, and very private. Excellent villa, with beautiful new appliances and furnishings. An incredibly peaceful place. Very clean, comfortable, accessible to town. Just beautiful, and the birds were free!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RecentlyRetired2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

the perfect VILLA with complete privacy, garden & jungle around, a hot tub and great facilities.
Great rooms, charming design, very cosy.
We were 2 adult & 2 children & stayed for 2 nights. Great cookings, BBQ - driving creek train just a t walking distance. To recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on 21st dec 2013 till 23rd dec 2013. Perfect place to get away. We drove in and the keys were placed for us and a note at the entrance stated where to find them with a welcome note. It was home away from home, small yard, kitchen facing the mountains, outdoor hot tub. Away from the road so all you hear was nature.
Great job David, we loved it...

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank francisamarsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
1.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
1.5 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Little Farm, Coromandel
The Little Farm, Coromandel
#14 of 17 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driving Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driving Creek Villas

Property: Driving Creek Villas
Address: 21A Colville Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Driving Creek Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, private bush surrounds, our spacious, fully self-contained boutique villas offer the perfect accommodation to unwind - beside the meandering Coromandel stream where gold was first discovered in New Zealand over 150 years ago. Purpose-built to a high standard, Driving Creek Villas combine colourful pacific themes with modern styling, providing a Coromandel luxury accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Driving Creek Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing