We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a great family weekend at Hush, staying in the Haven Studio. This studio was great, with our own private outdoor area where the kids played, and we sat and read. The location of Hush was great too ... with Driving Creek railway, and child friendly cafe across the road. The common areas were very clean and had everything we needed to make meals. We would certainly come stay at Hush again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hush is so beautiful and the photos don't do it justice, it's so much better in person. We were blown away by the al fresco area and even more so at night. Had just the right amount of ambient lighting and you really felt like you were on some tropical retreat. Plenty of outdoor space to relax in and being surrounded by all the lush landscape is very peaceful. The studios are very well maintained and looked after, beautifully and tastefully decorated and have what you would expect from boutique accommodation. We stayed in the 'Haven' studio and the description was right - plenty of sun, lovely for the morning! Little garden area to chill out in also was a perk. Great location and we loved the driving creek café across the road. The owners were lovely and very approachable, nothing was a problem and they have the perfect balance - there if you need them or at a distance if you just want to be on your own. It's very rare to find a place that is better than it's website portrays but this is a little gem! We're planning a wedding in January and we loved the place so much we're recommending our guests to stay here. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Haven had plenty of morning sun if that is what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCGBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

What a stunning place, clean and quiet. Hosts are super friendly and helpful and everything was perfect.

We really liked that the place is pet friendly but certainly can't smell that other pets have been. Super warm fireplace and close to many attractions

Stayed: October 2013
Thank SteveSmithNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Well on the 10th July 2013 we arrived at the Hush house as we were staying with friends. After a long flight and drive we were really tired it was fantastic to arrive to our delightful Harmony Suite warm (Heater on) and looking a perfect picture of relaxation. Our daughter was very excited about her own little room with bunk beds too.
The tranquility of Hush is got to be experienced to be believed, its like your the only people in the world, the sounds of the birds and nature in general is refreshing and delightful to wake up too.
And having the driving creek cafe so close down the road is the perfect place for a yummy breakfast (Pancakes are to die for).
Booking Hush with friends is fantastic, having the house to share a BBQ and relax in the sun while watching the children run around on the grass and collect eggs from the chickens is what every family needs to experience.
The house is extremely well appointed with everything a family requires and more. Friends of our even bought their pets and the owners (Liz and Jason) had even gone to the trouble of providing pet packs for their cat and dog, I have never seen this before.
We spent 5 nights in the Harmony suite and I never wanted to leave. The service and items provided in the suite was seriously better than the service at the crown hotel where we stayed at Auckland afterwards before our flight home.
I cannot wait to go back to Hush, I even discussed running a cycling group from Hush next year with Liz and she said that she would help me plan rides and routes for us to ride seriously where would you find that sort of service. I can just see it now with my riding buddies going for a long ride then returning to Hush for a BBQ, Wine and some R&R sitting around the outdoor Alfresco!
Man how I loved that Alfresco, nothing better than a nice cup of tea, turning on the over head heater and chilling out with my book!
So seriously people if you want a holiday to relax and enjoy great service and accommodation you can't beat Hush even in the middle of winter when we went it was still a dreamy holiday!
But hurry because this won't stay a secret for long, I am sure soon we will struggle to book a room once everyone catches on to how incredible this place is.
Well better run and stop day dreaming and get back to work so I can pay for my next stay at Hush in Coromandel New Zealand!

Room Tip: Seriously clean, and beautiful place to stay for any reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Booking online is often fraught with unknowns - The photos look good, but will it really be big enough? Is it really as nice as it looks?
HUSH Boutique is a sure bet! Absolutely gorgeous location, close enough to walk for my flat-white in the morning but secluded enough so that we felt we really were getting away from it all. Cosy, comfortable cabins linked by boardwalks through native bush. Easy to find, parking's a breeze. Our kids loved the generous lawn space next to the house to run around and explore. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Book the brand-new ensuite cabin - it's absolutely immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mum_n_Bub12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I will 100% be staying here again and sending anyone visiting Coro Town there too. We only parked our camper there for 1 night in 1 of the 2 campervan sites but the welcome and service, including huge fluffy white towels and hotel standard bathrooms. The rooms and the kitchens are lovely, and you feel tucked away from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShowMeSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in the hideaway studio hoping to get some child free time together. We couldn't have chosen a better place to relax. The native birds and bush setting makes for an awesome atmosphere. The facilities are close by, extremely clean and well equipped. The studio's were all private and tastefully decorated. Jason and Liz were amazing to deal with. I would recommend a stroll down the road to the Driving Creek Cafe. Great coffee and fresh/healthy menu on offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjay_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.3 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
12.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
18.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hush Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hush Boutique Accommodation

Address: 425 Driving Creek Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand (Formerly Goldminers Retreat)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range: £63 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hush Boutique Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hush Boutique Accommodation offers a tranquil and peaceful escape for singles, couples and families. Offering four beautifully appointed wooden cabins, with the options of modern en-suite bathrooms and single or two bedrooms. Each cabin is private, sunny and modern. Relax with a cup of tea or coffee in your room or mingle with other guests in the stylish outdoor kitchen- Hush Alfresco. Enjoy listening to the abundant bird life and resting amongst the native gardens. The Hush House is perfect for larger groups with 3 double bedrooms, kitchen and two bathrooms. The 1950's homestead is quirky in design, beautifully sunny and opens to a large peaceful garden. Located only 5 mins from Coromandel Town and directly across the road from Driving Creek Railway. Hush is a total escape from the busy pace of life. Hush also offers intimate weddings - perfect for elopements or small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hush Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing