We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of Abbey Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Court Motel
Ranked #5 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back again”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We have travelled around the globe, stopped in some great spots, and even some not worth the time nor day. Abbey Court always pleases , never had a bad stay, so can never understand the odd rouge remarks posted, you just can,t please some people. Wonderful little town with plenty to do especially the fishing. The owners and staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moodypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you once again for staying us.
We look forward to having you back at Abbey Court again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    30
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

we stayed here and loved the space in the family room so nice..! all though ive never been to a motel which asks you to do your dishes?? lol found beer caps under the beds,im not sure if they vacume once a month or what? friendly service :) tiny heater ,had to warm the room up asap for my baby,as it was freeezing.good value for your money,id stay again, and do my dishes lol

Room Tip: nice spacious rooms! but you have to do your dishes!! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Very sorry about the beer caps under the bed.
I have informed the staff to be very thorough when cleaning the units.
We take pride in our cleaning and hope that this does not happen again.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalandhar
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed in this Motel for one night. At the time of Check in the lady at counter will greed you as you are god but at the time of check out I was almost thrown out of my room with all the service persons just taking out my unpacked luggage and putting them on the ground and saying me to pack it here, we can`t give you even 2 min. to pack the luggage as check out time over and used the abusive language. At the time of check in Lady the had take my credit card copy, after some days when my statement comes to me I have seen that she had deducted half day rent from my card, when I asked her she says that you are 3 min. up the check out time so you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: Go to city center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritesh0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, Owner at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
There was no actual problem with the stay - however just before 10:00am (check out time) they asked if they could check out later. We explained to them that the cleaners were already here to clean their unit. They then proceeded to cook breakfast and shower etc. They eventually left after 11:30 - by which time 3 cleaners had had to wait more than half an hour to finish the cleaning - the unit was booked that night and needed to be available for the next guests who were arriving at 12:00. None of their belongings were touched by our staff. They were not charged any extra. We often have guests checking out late (going on fishing charters etc) and if we know in advance we can accommodate them - and we never charge extra for this.
However we are a business, offering quality accommodation at very competitive rates and cannot afford to pay staff to wait unnecessarily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Initially we passed the Abbey Court on the way in looking for somewhere to stay. It wasn't in our guidebook. What an omission. It is very centrally situated, no more than 4 minutes to the centre of town. Some of the more expensive hotel options are a short drive away. But if you want a nice meal with a glass of superb NZ wine or two walking distance is better. Back to the Abbey Court. Very spacious rooms, spotlessly clean, very much NZ "batch style" decor. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. Emma and little Bella couldn't do enough for us. A great price. Book it.

Room Tip: Probably go for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_the_traveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very nice Location in the Heart of Coromandel!! We spend over a week on Easter Holidays 2012 in Abbey Court Motel, Coromandel Town. It was fantastic!! We had a spacious Room with a Kitchen and everything you need for a relaxing Trip - you'll find it right there!! (A Spa Tub is located nearby) The Hosts are very, very kind - we've enjoyed it so much!! Oh, and btw: one of the best NZ-Accomodation-Deal so far!! (after 2 and half Months of Travelling NZ) The longer your stay - the cheaper you pay :))
We had a really great time at Abbey Court Motel!! Thanks to our Hosts!! When we ever have the opportunity to get back there - we would!! Every time!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were blocked there for 3 nights, due to the weather. We were lucky, we had a great room with all facilities fir cooking, there are heaps of Dvd we could watch, and good bathrooms. Additionally a free spa pool, really cool to unfreeze for cyclist who rode in rain. The owners arereally kind and even offered us to use their motel car to have a look at the remote parts of the island. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at Abbey Court Motel on 4th and 5th Feb 2012 while visiting Coromandel. The place is excellent, located centrally and the rooms are neat and clean. Kirsty makes sure the stay is comfortable and i really felt at home. There is enough privacy and a lot of facilities for a Fisho like me, including the filleting station and the BBQ. The kids enjoyed the spa.
Highly recommended and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. If travelling with kids, request for rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akakroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
0.4 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
339 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Motel

Property: Abbey Court Motel
Address: 234 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious family and studio units, all with their own kitchenette and bathroom. We are only 250m from the main street where there is a great selection of cafes and restaurants. There is free use of WiFi, laundry, a large selection of DVDs while staying with us. We offer discounts for long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing