We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding place to stay, we highly recommend this motel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey Court Motel
Ranked #4 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Outstanding place to stay, we highly recommend this motel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Abbey Court is a child friendly environment and has activities available for children, which allows time some time for rest!! The location of the motel is superb with only a short 1min stroll into the township where one can find a bar, café, supermarket, bank etc… The owners and staff are outstanding and are happy to offer advice on where the best places are to catch fish or where to sample the local cuisine. We highly recommend Abbey Court for a place to stay when visiting Coromandel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, General Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.

We are so happy to get such good feedback.

We hope to have you stay again the next time you visit the Coromandel

Cheers
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We chose this motel as they allow dogs. A pleasant surprise to find such friendly people in a good position close to town. Our room, number 5, was large with a small courtyard at the back. Clean though basic. Could have done with a second bedside cabinet to place the book and water glass.
At the rear of the motel is a good outlook over the water, with a useful walk for the dog.
Peaceful ' one back' location.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms most suited to taking your pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engset21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, General Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for Staying at Abbey Court Motel and Taking the time to write a review for us.

It is so nice to get such good feedback.

P.S Thank you for the feedback about the bedside cabinets i will past that on to the owners:)

Cheers
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Out of all the motels that we stayed in during our holiday in nz, this is the only motel that has a clock as well as a mixer tap for the sink which made things more convenient for us. It's value for money and it is also clean and spacious. Very enjoyable. Would definitely stay thr again if we go to coronandel again :) wonderful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sining99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, Owner at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thank you very much for making the time to write a review for us.
It is great to get such good feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We have travelled around the globe, stopped in some great spots, and even some not worth the time nor day. Abbey Court always pleases , never had a bad stay, so can never understand the odd rouge remarks posted, you just can,t please some people. Wonderful little town with plenty to do especially the fishing. The owners and staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moodypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you once again for staying us.
We look forward to having you back at Abbey Court again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

we stayed here and loved the space in the family room so nice..! all though ive never been to a motel which asks you to do your dishes?? lol found beer caps under the beds,im not sure if they vacume once a month or what? friendly service :) tiny heater ,had to warm the room up asap for my baby,as it was freeezing.good value for your money,id stay again, and do my dishes lol

Room Tip: nice spacious rooms! but you have to do your dishes!! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Very sorry about the beer caps under the bed.
I have informed the staff to be very thorough when cleaning the units.
We take pride in our cleaning and hope that this does not happen again.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalandhar
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed in this Motel for one night. At the time of Check in the lady at counter will greed you as you are god but at the time of check out I was almost thrown out of my room with all the service persons just taking out my unpacked luggage and putting them on the ground and saying me to pack it here, we can`t give you even 2 min. to pack the luggage as check out time over and used the abusive language. At the time of check in Lady the had take my credit card copy, after some days when my statement comes to me I have seen that she had deducted half day rent from my card, when I asked her she says that you are 3 min. up the check out time so you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: Go to city center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritesh0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtMotel, Owner at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
There was no actual problem with the stay - however just before 10:00am (check out time) they asked if they could check out later. We explained to them that the cleaners were already here to clean their unit. They then proceeded to cook breakfast and shower etc. They eventually left after 11:30 - by which time 3 cleaners had had to wait more than half an hour to finish the cleaning - the unit was booked that night and needed to be available for the next guests who were arriving at 12:00. None of their belongings were touched by our staff. They were not charged any extra. We often have guests checking out late (going on fishing charters etc) and if we know in advance we can accommodate them - and we never charge extra for this.
However we are a business, offering quality accommodation at very competitive rates and cannot afford to pay staff to wait unnecessarily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Initially we passed the Abbey Court on the way in looking for somewhere to stay. It wasn't in our guidebook. What an omission. It is very centrally situated, no more than 4 minutes to the centre of town. Some of the more expensive hotel options are a short drive away. But if you want a nice meal with a glass of superb NZ wine or two walking distance is better. Back to the Abbey Court. Very spacious rooms, spotlessly clean, very much NZ "batch style" decor. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. Emma and little Bella couldn't do enough for us. A great price. Book it.

Room Tip: Probably go for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_the_traveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
1.8 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Motel

Property: Abbey Court Motel
Address: 234 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious family and studio units, all with their own kitchenette and bathroom. We are only 250m from the main street where there is a great selection of cafes and restaurants. There is free use of WiFi, laundry, a large selection of DVDs while staying with us. We offer discounts for long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing