We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B
Ranked #7 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This accommodation just a short drive from the main Street of Coromandel has a beautiful setting with views over the harbour and a balcony to eat breakfast from. Studio 2 is well equipped and has the best views. Although the owners were not there to greet us, Hazel one of the owner's mother did an excellent job and the bottle of wine we were given to make up for this was a very nice touch.
We were disappointed that we were not able to take advantage of having a meal with the hosts due to it being a very busy period at the camper park they also own.
We were also interested to see that breakfast is an additional cost as bed and breakfast normally includes this although to be fair this was explained during the booking process.
The hot tub in the garden is a nice touch and there are good laundry facilities and plenty of room to dry clothes.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

A lovely way to see the view above coromandel town. Lovely accommodation and wonderful hosts. Beautiful view to wake up to. It is a wee bit of a drive from town centre but well worth the effort. A short walk down the hill to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingVanuatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Having read the previous reviews on this site just before we left for our trip, I was expecting a lovely experience. Unfortunately it was not the case, and I deliberated long and hard about posting this, but we DID have a choice of accommodation and unfortunately this did not meet our expectations.
At late notice, (the day before) we requested a late checkout, given that we had just driven for one and a half days from Wellington, Auckland, Little Bay and back to Coromandel and had very little sleep. The owner (not sure which) upon our request wanted to know why we wanted a late checkout. My husband taken aback by this mentioned that we would like a sleep-in. We were then told that they were very busy and fully booked (NYears eve), and could only give us an extra half an hour. We needn't have bothered - we were woken at 9am by lawnmowers, weedeaters etc right outside our door! (I do understand that obviously the work needed doing before New Year and that 9am is not unreasonable.)
Upon reading the Amenities Booklet in the room, we discovered that breakfast was an optional extra. We had booked online via WATIF who did not give us the option to purchase breakfast, and we naively expected it to be included in the accommodation price, given that it was a B&B! The reason my husband booked this property was we were wanting a more "special" option of accommodation than just a motel!)
The setting to be fair was beautiful, the views stunning and the room tastefully decorated. However you could not view TV from the bed as the wall-mounted screen was not moveable. The bed linen was high quality, but shame that the mattress itself was hard and lumpy despite having a sheepskin layer and padded mattress protector!
We were in the downstairs room #3 - not a recommendation if you're a light sleeper. You can hear the people in the room above talking, and all water use in the toilet/shower/sink is very noisy.
The bathroom shower slide was broken - the head was loose and flopped down. This would have been obvious to the person cleaning it as they placed it strategically totally upright and it was only when you came to use the shower that you noticed it had to be held, like a hand-held shower. Given that repair at this late stage was not likely, my husband resorted to some kiwi-ingenuity, with one of the face-cloths to keep it fixed! Upon checkout and letting the owner know about this, no apology was given, just a smart quip about getting him another face-cloth! Also, the bathroom appeared to have been cleaned well, but there were little clumps of hair behind the door and bottom of vanity which had been missed. We were left with only half a roll of toilet paper (no spares in the cupboard), and the amenities booklet says to ask if you needed anything extra, but seriously, why would one need to ask for extra toilet paper at 50c a roll!

I would have loved to give this place a good review as it really is a beautiful property, but it was not the service we are accustomed to, and certainly not what I would have expected from recent new owners.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rth0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just had two nights at Why Worry in a motel style unit... we were very warmly welcomed by Deb and Gail, they could not do enough for us to make our stay more pleasant. We enjoyed our unit, which was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We would not hesitate to recommend Why Worry to family and friends.

Room Tip: Motel unit 2 had lovely balcony and water views in both directions..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Why worry is clean and has great views.
However on arriving was told the spa not working, I had chosen this b and b as it had a spa.
The kitchen sink was to small to wash the dinner plates in.
The outside chair was broken.
Friendly hosts but poor amenities

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utrecht
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

this is a place to be, a clean B&B, nice owners and A spectacular view from your own deck!
GREAT! Just a few kilometers from the lovely little town of coromandel, op a steep hill! You just get out of the house and start walking and in the evening you cold take a hot tub outside and relax on your private deck.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luzUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Very friendly down-to-earth Kiwi hosts make you feel very welcome. Location is amazing on the peninsular overlooking two bays and with panoramic views across to the mountains. Rooms are sensibly furnished and there's a very well stocked "mini bar". Best of all are your hosts who make you feel right at home and offer use of a spa-bath on the terrace, clothes washing facilities and an excellent breakfast with a good chat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudleysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
1.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Little Farm, Coromandel
The Little Farm, Coromandel
#14 of 17 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B

Property: Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B
Address: 150 Huihana Lane, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand (Formerly Why Worry Bed & Breakfast)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea views from all Studios. This property has the wow factor. Under new ownership in October 2013. Fully refurbished rooms. Enjoy sitting on your own covered deck watching the boats go by and seeing and hearing all the native birds of New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing