We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a relaxing and romantic night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indigo Bush Studios
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing and romantic night away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Absolutely stunning place set in a little patch of bush. We loved the décor and the outdoor bath and also the corner platform bed (very comfortable). Nice quick drive into the town for dinner by the beach which was great. Would recommend the lower room as the top room had less privacy. The no TV policy was fantastic as it allowed my partner and I to really spend quality time together. Highly recommend this place for a relaxing night or weekend away, well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Lower room has more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeishaSnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

What a cosy little slice of heaven that provided us with the escape for our honeymoon night. We thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor bath, cheese and most of all solitude.

Would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a romantic get-away, a retreat or simply a bolt hole to hide from the rest of the world.

Room Tip: The lower studio is more secluded which we preferred but the upper studio is more accessible and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upcwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed at the studios last weekend and was pretty clean and tidy. Good location just 5 minutes from town center and 2 minutes away from Driving Creek Railway. Loved the interiors and outdoor private bath. I preferred the lower room as it offers more intimacy and comfort for couples. Robyn was a great host and managed the stay pretty well. Highly recommend the place for couples looking for a private time out or experience something more earthly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanmay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

My partner and I went there for a night. It was a surprise for him and he was floored!!! With the bed, the decor, the inside bathroom which was quite big and spacious and the outside bath was just amazing.. Had the most beautiful night. :) definitely worth paying the money if yuh are looking for private time, seclusion and a romantic getaway.. Thanks Robyn

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We spent the first week if our honeymoon tucked away in this quiet corner of New Zealand, and indigo was the perfect place where you can forget the rest of the world and properly relax!

Of the two studios, our advice would be to pick the lower one (the one we had) as it is even more secluded than the upper one!

Loved staying there, and will be back one day!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My flatmate and I stayed here in Nov 2013 for one night. It's a unique and interesting custom-designed pair of studio apartments. It would be absolutely ideal for a romantic escape for people who really want to be left alone, or for an artist or musician or writer that wanted to be isolated to be productive for a while.

The layout is conducive to romance and relaxation. It has a modern and artistic vibe, with interesting and stimulating decor and of course a dreamy outlook directly onto massed greenery. There's adequate kitchenware to stay for several days unbothered, a shower big enough for about 12 people, and an outdoor bath near the small breakfast-style table. There are plenty of tourist brochures and magazines, and a few CDs (e.g. excellent flamenco music) and a stereo. The fireplace was already prepared for us to light and that was a rare treat. It was raining frequently during our stay and that made it more intoxicating to stay indoors.

Things to note - it is not really a walkable distance to Coromandel township (well, it would be 20+mins), the fridge is fairly small (so you couldn't stay isolated for a whole week, nor hold a party). There is no TV, but there is a DVD player (bring some movies if you wish). The only bedding option is a queen bed and I don't think the couch would be suitable for many people.

If you stay here, you'll meet the owner, Robyn, who is a local artist, and make sure you go to Umu cafe for coffee alone, or any meal - it's awesome!

Room Tip: The "upper" Queen room is slightly larger and marginally easier to get to from the carpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

stayed there in September 2013 with my wife. There are 2 apartments, lower and upper studio, each having a bath. Stayed in lower studio, it offers more privacy - hidden in the bush.
This is excellent romantic place - a neatly designed studio with a bath outside of the house, surrounded by the bush - this was exactly what I was looking for..

Room Tip: I would recommend lower studio if you are looking for a better privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iakhtyamov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.8 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Driving Creek Villas
Driving Creek Villas
#1 of 17 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Little Farm, Coromandel
The Little Farm, Coromandel
#14 of 17 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
12.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Bush Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Bush Studios

Property: Indigo Bush Studios
Address: 19 Flays Road | Coromandel, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Indigo Bush Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience simple but inspiring accommodation that doesn't feel like just another bed and breakfast. Run by local painter and potter Robyn Lewis, art surrounds you in these architecturally designed studio apartments. Sophisticated yet funky, with an ethnic twist, you have a choice of two intimate spaces - perfect for couples or close friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indigo Bush Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing