We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Mangrove Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mangrove Manor
Ranked #1 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We arrived in Coromandel Town and liked the place so much, we decided to stay. Anne and Peter welcomed us in their lovely B&B and offered us a nice stand-by rate since it wasn't a busy time of the year. Very comfortable bed and shower, a very relaxing place to stay. I loved the homemade bread for breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avanandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was just fantastic. The room was so comfortable and furnished to a high standard, the breakfasts very tasty and very healthy and the hosts were just amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them from offering to collect us from the bus, lifts into town, advising on where to go and what to see, lending spades and towels for a trip to hot water beach and baking wonderful home made muffins as a treat for afternoon tea. Would love to stay there again and would certainly recommend Mangrove Manor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 949Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at Mangrove Manor recently on two non-consecutive nights. We were really well looked after - nothing was too much trouble. The owners even booked our car hire for us.
The rooms are really luxurious, and food is really scrummy. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seaview room has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wightlady503888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What can I say about Mangrove Manor except thank you Anne and Peter for being such wonderful hosts! As others have said, it felt as if we were staying with good friends and this is something not all hosts achieve; making your guests feel so welcome. We have stayed at hundreds of B & B's all over the world and the friendliness of the hosts is so important...we have experienced the snobbish hosts, the weird hosts and the couldn't care less hosts but the lovely friendly ones we will always remember and Anne and Peter are up there with the very best. As for the practical side of things...If you want lovely surroundings, beautiful food, a delightful guest lounge to sit in and a very comfy bed this is the place to stay in the Coromandel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and I don't know why we haven't done this before. Our hosts were very friendly, it very quickly felt like we were staying with old friends. An extremely homey atmosphere, very comfortable and well appointed. Anne and Peter gave us ideas about places to visit and were happy to make bookings for us. Breakfast was magnificent. We had free Internet access for the first time since we arrived in New Zealand. Tea and coffee making facilities were great. A wonderful experience, thanks.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Myrle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just had a very pleasant stay of two nights at the Mangrove Manor, in the Seaview room, Anne and Peter are wonderful hosts, lots of useful information for me, about where best to get a good photographic angle for the local scenery, where are some intersting places to visit, not that we had long unfortunately.

Excellent homemade muesli and yogurt topped with the fresh fruit salad, followed by toasted homemade bread and preserves, coffee and juice, if you are really a glutton Anne will turn a cooked breakfast as well, personally I couldn't fit one in.

Absolutely spotless shower and toilet facilities, and the water pressure is a change from our rain shower at home, plenty of toiletries, even had things for the ladies to remove the make up and such like. Very comfortable bed with tea and coffee, thats real coffee, making just a step outside the room, and as this was a bit of a surprise for the wife, Anne had kindly placed some homemade cupcakes on the table for an added surprise, thank you Anne.

Anne kindly made our booking at the local Pepper Tree restaurant for the Saturday evening, also recommended.

Definately recommend to friends, lovely people in a lovely location.

Thank you. N & S.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Great location for the Coromandel region sights and activities. Beautiful home with warm hosts who had great suggestions for activities, routes, and restaurants. Two bedrooms both with ensuites was perfect for our family (2 children). We felt very at home and really recharged for a few days. Homemade bread every day was an extra special treat.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Miller1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
11.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
1.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Manor

Address: 2710 Tiki Road | P.O. Box 170, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range: £86 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Purpose Built Bed & Breakfast, situated on a coast block of 1.5 acres , just 500 metres to Coromandel Mussel Kitchen Restaurant, or a 2-3 minute drive into Town where there is a great variety of Seafood Restaurants, Hotels, Cafe's. We have 2 Rooms upstairs, both ensuited & one that looks out to Coromandel Harbour, and the other that looks over the beautiful Mountain Ranges. We have a "Well Being" Treatment Room Downstairs that is available for Guests, Treatments include Facials, Shiatsu Pressure Point Massage, Reflexology. Breakfast is a Full Cooked as well as Home Baked Bread, Cereals, Fruit, Home Made Greek Yoghurt & Jams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mangrove Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing