We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality at quiet property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mangrove Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mangrove Manor
Ranked #1 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality at quiet property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Mangrove Manor is beautifully and practically appointed, very clean, and with a nice central living area where home-made cupcakes were a feature each evening we were there. We stayed two nights at and it was lovely: hosts Ann and Peter could not have been more helpful, from providing recommendations and advice on driving routes, local sights and restaurants/cafes to providing wonderful breakfasts - the highlight of which was Ann's home made passionfruit yogurt. We had booked one room, but our 12 year old daughter was with us, so arrangements were made for us to stay in the closed off and private downstairs area which had a private bathroom and plenty of room for an airbed.

Mangrove Manor is on an access road to Coromandel town, but it's very quiet and the view towards the hills is a gorgeous NZ vista, especially at sunset. Location is fantastic - just a few minutes into the town and very close to route 309 to Hot Water beach and Cathedral Cove. The 309 is mostly unpaved and a little winding, but well worth the drive for its amazing views and kauri trees, and opportunity to buy local Manuka honey. Near the Coromandel end of the 309, we also had a fun encounter with a local (vegetarian) farmer and his collection of piglets, pigs, and chickens out for a stroll.

In all, a great experience!

Room Tip: If you have a child who can sleep on an airbed, the downstairs area is perfect. Enough space for eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreaterGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
79
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Really needing a car as it's a few km out of town but that also means REAL tranquillity. Very friendly service, help with all advice, and great breakfast including cooked stuff. Nice shared sitting room downstairs; the bedroom (we had the smallest, Mountain View, upstairs) is standard B & B which means rather small and packed - a bit like the 'rooms for Oompah Loomhahs not for humans' in expensive cities of Asia. E.g. no chair to sit on and just enough space to store clothes; decent ensuite bathroom though. Still top-end amongst the B&B category!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangrovemanor, Owner at Mangrove Manor, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Many thanks for your feedback Mr de Ruijter, your needs for a desk & chair at 6.30am following your nights stay with us, were gladly met by my husband Peter making his office available for you to do your private business. I think you will find the bedroom chair had some of your extra luggage placed on it. And yes, we do choose to be a couple of km's out of town so we can hopefully create - As you say "Tranquility". I am also aware that the language barrier in some cases makes communication difficult. Thankyou again. Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We arrived in Coromandel Town and liked the place so much, we decided to stay. Anne and Peter welcomed us in their lovely B&B and offered us a nice stand-by rate since it wasn't a busy time of the year. Very comfortable bed and shower, a very relaxing place to stay. I loved the homemade bread for breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avanandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was just fantastic. The room was so comfortable and furnished to a high standard, the breakfasts very tasty and very healthy and the hosts were just amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them from offering to collect us from the bus, lifts into town, advising on where to go and what to see, lending spades and towels for a trip to hot water beach and baking wonderful home made muffins as a treat for afternoon tea. Would love to stay there again and would certainly recommend Mangrove Manor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 949Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at Mangrove Manor recently on two non-consecutive nights. We were really well looked after - nothing was too much trouble. The owners even booked our car hire for us.
The rooms are really luxurious, and food is really scrummy. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seaview room has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wightlady503888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

What can I say about Mangrove Manor except thank you Anne and Peter for being such wonderful hosts! As others have said, it felt as if we were staying with good friends and this is something not all hosts achieve; making your guests feel so welcome. We have stayed at hundreds of B & B's all over the world and the friendliness of the hosts is so important...we have experienced the snobbish hosts, the weird hosts and the couldn't care less hosts but the lovely friendly ones we will always remember and Anne and Peter are up there with the very best. As for the practical side of things...If you want lovely surroundings, beautiful food, a delightful guest lounge to sit in and a very comfy bed this is the place to stay in the Coromandel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and I don't know why we haven't done this before. Our hosts were very friendly, it very quickly felt like we were staying with old friends. An extremely homey atmosphere, very comfortable and well appointed. Anne and Peter gave us ideas about places to visit and were happy to make bookings for us. Breakfast was magnificent. We had free Internet access for the first time since we arrived in New Zealand. Tea and coffee making facilities were great. A wonderful experience, thanks.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Myrle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
11.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
10.8 mi away
At Parkland Place
At Parkland Place
#5 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.8 mi away
Driving Creek Villas
Driving Creek Villas
#1 of 18 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Manor

Property: Mangrove Manor
Address: 2710 Tiki Road | P.O. Box 170, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mangrove Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing