We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh mussels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coromandel Mussell Kitchen

Coromandel Mussell Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$18
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and enjoy some delicious, fresh greenlipped mussels served up in a beautiful outdoor country setting and wash it down with our very own craft beer brewed on site.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fresh mussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The food was fab and fresh with friendly staffs. Must try the mussels in thai curry, not spicy at all and lots of mussels rather than gravy. Definitely will go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimies625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    95
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,451 reviews
697 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,277 helpful votes
“Mussel haven with fennel and crispy kumera.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Simply delightful ambiance to revel in mussel-haven. A bucket of steamed mussels and another of fennel & mussel hotpot,has us swooning.
NZ mussels are world best and with the crispiest wedges of kumera,simply divine!.
We finished of with ice cream. Do you need any enticement? I can see you salivating

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We got the pot of mussels in a creamy broth of garlic, onions, parsley and bacon bits, and fish and chips for the kids. The mussels were great. Lots of them in a pot, shared by me and my husband. An extra helping of sourdough bread to dip in the broth would have been nice. The kids' fish and chips had a big chunk of battered fish, a good helping of chips and salad. Fish was on the bland side, but undoubtedly fresh.
They were kind enough to offer a basket of toys for the children to play with while waiting for the food. Food took long to be served,and there were only 3 other tables occupied at the time we came in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xtne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Absolutely beautiful food, I had a pot of mussels in a thai yellow curry. I was eating for what seemed like hours, as there were so many mussels! I loved the flavours, and I felt that $19 was a very reasonable price. Yummy :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holsizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Recommended by our motel in Thames and everything they said it would be. We've never had mussels as good and probably won't again - unless we go back.
If you are in Coromandel - just go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VEROUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coromandel Mussell Kitchen also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Coromandel Mussell Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing