We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Cafe for lunch near the Driving creek railway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Driving Creek Cafe

Driving Creek Cafe
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Driving Creek Cafe is one of the best kept secrets of Coromandel Town - a warm and homely vegetarian cafe with a magical ambiance that may just keep you there enjoying the fine coffee or teas and delicious home made meals and cakes for much longer than you originally intended. Unless of course you're on a train, in which case we will prepare your order with much speed and gusto! You will also find fresh pressed juices, fresh fruit smoothies, and incredible homemade Chai whose recipe was procured after years of dedicated service to a Master Artisan. The Driving Creek Cafe has organic loose-leaf teas and great LaLa organic coffee. Enjoy our freshly baked gourmet cakes and scones, falafel burgers, breakfasts and a great range of toasted sandwiches, tasty beaches and salads. For keeping in contact we do have great unlimited free Wi-Fi. Allow yourself enough time to check out the collection of Mick the Plumber's stunning puzzle boxes showcasing Coromandel's unique tolerance for what may be considered art or drop in for one of our live rants. Discover the peace of our garden with a sandpit and playhouse for the children or put your feet up on the wide sun-drenched deck. Get ready for a treat. We look forward to serving you!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe for lunch near the Driving creek railway”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Booked on the driving creek railway and then had about an hour to wait. Decided to try this little restuarant about 200 metres down the road.It does not have a large selection of meals but all the food is wholesome parking is available up next to the restuarant but ony 3 spots and down near the road. There is also a play area for children ,internet computers available insite the restuarant in a very causual atmoshere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    81
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Pancakes (Crapes)”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Ordered:
Pancakes and a mega chocolate shake.

Pancakes (crapes) were great. Nice with sweet fruit juices no need for maple syrup.

Mega Chocolate was the best I have had in a long time. Not too sweet. Found it was gone very fast!

Nice nice have free wifi. Service was good. Didn't have to wait at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food...”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Great food unfortunately I received the savoury bagel instead of the sweet one, which isn't what I asked for, other than that was yum, hot chocolate was great

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food not worth to 3km drive out of town”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Spent a while trying to find something on a menu that didn't have much variety. Three of us decided on the Dahl. The other 2 were okay (no more than average) but mine had no flavour. I had to go back in and ask if it was even the same meal. The staff/owner? didn't seem to care. 'It's a different batch' was only explanation. There weren't even any lentils in my 'new' batch, seems it was tinned tomato and potato soup with some rice on the side.

Nice location. Pity about the food on the day we visited.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Godano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal D, Owner at Driving Creek Cafe, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
But you didn't drive just 3kms out of town did you!? You drove for over an hour from Whitianga to get to us so don't be so misleading! Your whole entourage came in looking pale and sick from the winding roads and we did our best to accommodate you. Katie had been making that dhal for 2 hours prior to your arrival and if you had any powers of observation you would have smelt it cooking on the stove.. There is NOTHING unusual about finishing the dhal we had in the fridge and serving the one we had just made. What you had was Tamatar mung dal - the mung dal is dry roasted first (very unusual recipe) and this causes it to break apart after cooking it for a while. We all had a bowl that afternoon and it was delicious. You were dissatisfied from the moment you walked in - seems like writing on the internet is your way of having a nice whinge. Good luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great little vegetarian cafe”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

really enjoyed a quick snack here. Very friendly and welcoming and a lovely range of vegetarian food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driving Creek Cafe also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Driving Creek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing