We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

10th September 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at Shelly Beach in our motorhome. Lovely clean ficilities. Tranquil setting with all the trees aroud us with a lovely view of Shelly Bay.We enjoyed walking around the rocks when the tide was out.The hosts were most welcoming and abliging. Looking forward to going back for Xmas Holidays.
Alex & Dennis from Tauranga

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexhunter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

As I write this review I am sitting outside our hired motorvan, on a large grassy pitch in the shade of mature trees. Ahead of me is the beach - and beyond it the sea and the islands of Coromandel Bay. The sun is shining and all is peace - apart from the noise of birds. Bliss!

Shelly Beach is a large campsite in a small bay, surrounded on three sides by trees. There are around 150 pitches here - roughly half being powered sites - and in addition there are a number of 'motel' units. The kitchen, laundry, showers and toilets are modern, well maintained and clean - as is the standard for most Top 10 sites. During the summer months I imagine the site and beach would become very busy, but in March there have only been 10-15 pitches in use each night throughout our stay.

Being sheltered by hills from the neighbouring town, Coromandel, light pollution is not an issue here and the night skies have been truly fabulous!

Come and stay whilst the crowds are away if you can - it's a beautiful place to be and well worth the scenic, winding drive along the peninsula coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank HampshireSue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Shelly Beach was a perfect place to stay for us. We stayed four nights with our tent and camper on a generous site under a beautiful bottlebrush tree. The showers and toilets were always clean. Our girls loved the fact that they could go for a swim in hip deep water, play at the little stream, make friends at the rope swing... Just idyllic. Gorgeous sunsets, too!
From here you can drive to all attractions the little township has to offer. Our favourite has to be the "Waterworks".

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germanmamacow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I booked three nights at Shelly Beach from Wellington for a group of friends from overseas, and we all loved the place - it is quieter and more peaceful than other Top 10's we have stayed at, and Ian is a wonderful ambassador for the Coromandel and New Zealand.If he wasn't running a holiday park we reckon he might be on the telly.

Room Tip: Camp near the beach, unless it's windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubertWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 02 nights. It's a great place, the beach is calm and clean, very nice mainly for children and less than 1 minute walk. The structure is very good, even showers and toilets (there is a person clean the place every time). Unfortunately, same people don't know how to have a good behave, and make lots of noise... Fortunately, after 11pm was ok (completly silence, actually!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica_Guido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Picked this site after driving across from Waitomo and glad we did. Ian the manager made us very welcome and ensured there was plenty of wood for the log burner in the lounge (a real plus point for us) A short walk across the site to the beach which certainly lives up to its name. Very convenient for Driving Creek and only a short hop into town.

Come here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Enjoyable natural location all on a beach front to collect shellfish and go fishing for the delux barbque area in a large park like grounds.All comes complete with with quale birds in the morning and owl songs at night.
No town noise or a pub on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
347 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Little Farm, Coromandel
The Little Farm, Coromandel
#13 of 18 in Coromandel
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coromandel Tui Lodge
Coromandel Tui Lodge
#5 of 18 in Coromandel
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 243 Colville Road | Shelly Beach, Coromandel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range: £31 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing