We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real road...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 309 Road

The 309 Road
Chelsfield, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real road...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I've read this road can be dangerous and like most it depends on the respect you give it, not to mention the ability of other drivers using it at the same time. If you can miss hitting the odd trapper with his pack of hounds or judge the corners so as not to go round them at the same time as a logger you will be awarded with some fantastic views.

Both this and the Tapu Coroglen Road are worth trying but only if you are a seasoned driver and willing to give others a wide berth. If you get an idiot behind you let them go and wait for the dust to settle so that you can continue to see the great sights along the way.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wing_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    95
    31
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not As Bad As I Thought”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Having been to Coromandel town and driven across to Whitianga several times,decided this time I would risk the 309 road. I knew it was a loose gravel road but thought I would risk it.It wasn't as bad as I thought it would be.There was not much traffic on the road going either way so didn't feel stressed.(Glad I was driving an automatic though as I think there would have been quite a few gear changes).Amazing scenery and certainly quicker than the main route.Watch out for the kuni kuni pigs !!! Not sure how it would be in the winter though

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dangerous road but great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very curvy and and steep gravel road with amazing view.

Not recommended for beginner drivers or people who are scared of heights.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGuy290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Driving over to mercury bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Driving from Auckland. We hadn't ticked the box on our sat nav for unsealed roads. Thought it would be a short road but spent over an hr on the road in the pitch black. Didn't see anyone else traveling along and didn't get to see much of the nature as it was dark

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Curvey & Nervey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Thought we would take a shortcut, navigator forgot to mention it was a gravel road and that there is not a single stretch of more than 100km that is straight. However the road winds its way through lovely native bush with an occasional glimpse of the beautiful gulf, well worth the drive. Incidentally, it is shorter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dinksnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 309 Road also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The 309 Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing