We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, Great Hosts, Well Equipped Rooms---spend a week!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
washington state
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Hosts, Well Equipped Rooms---spend a week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was a very clean well run spot, quiet and what a view the sunsets are stunning. The beds were firm, the kitchen well equipped, everything tidy and clean. They have a spa and a full laundry facility including a nice line to use outdoors. The hosts were so nice we didn't want to leave! It's a great location if you love seafood and hiking, walk into town and get a few of those luscious mussels and have a meal. There are quite a few things to do and many great hikes to take in the area. Leanne will help you plan out your visit and is quite helpful and kind. The weather wasn't so great when we were there but the surrounding and view made it great just the same. Lots of people come here for a longer stay and we can see why!

A friend from Whidbey Island recommended this place to us, she had seen it leaving the Coromandel a few years ago and she's heading there after our rave review.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4oystercatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    70
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
157
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Notts,U.K.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Wonderful views and excellent motel. Only downside was wi fi connection was poor.Otherwise highly recommended - would love to have spent a week there!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Great view of the harbour from the room. It has been the best accommodation that I have stayed in while in New Zealand. Bikes, BBQ and spa free to use, and also activities to do on a rainy day such as puzzles. It is quite far from town but the 30 minute walk to town through the bush is not bad (another photo opportunity), and the host will happily take you into town for cheaper than a taxi.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PseudoSmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Very comfortable, spacious and clean unit with wonderful views. Very helpful and pleasant owners who made our last few days in nz very memorable.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotsoftrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have just returned from a three night stay at this motel and I would recommend it to anyone considering a trip to the Coromandel. Leanne and Des were first rate hosts, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the harbour view itself was excellent.

It is a very short drive (or walk) from the town centre and the fresh seafood makes this part of the world a must. I would also suggest a trip over Tokotea Hill to Kennedy's Bay to see the other side of the Peninsula.

The Driving Creek Railway is another "must do". Read about this railway experience at http://singaporesojourn.blogspot.com/2011/11/were-on-train-to-nowhere.html

I wrote about the journey itself at http://singaporesojourn.blogspot.com/2011/11/coromandel.html
and a photo gallery is at http://www.worldlense.com/coromandel.html

Room Tip: Take a Harbour View room near the centre of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingersTomTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is idyllically set on the water walking distance away from the charming town of Coromandel. The unit we had (#4) was large, clean and relaxing with cooking facilities. The hosts, Leanne and Des were so helpful and even loaned us spades for the Hot Water Beach. They really went out of their way to please, and we stayed an extra night.

I would definitely stay here again if given the chance!

The view is beautiful from the deck - the sunsets and bird watching is great fun!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Perfect location on harbour. Beautiful room and kitchen. Great staff. Couldnt expect more.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfectly located with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
13.0 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing