We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coromandel Gem”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coromandel Gem”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at this wonderful, tranquil spot overlooking the harbour. Excellent facilities and only a few minutes drive to the main Coromandel shops. Peaceful and pleasant, a great place to unwind for a real break. Great hosts. The in room guest information guide is in my opinion one of the most humorous that I have come across in over 40 years of staying in motels and hotels. Very very funny and shows a personal touch that is often missing in such information packs. I loved the comments about advising the motel if you are going to head way up the top end - priceless, but see it for yourself

Room Tip: If you have the option to upgrade to a room with a deck area, it is well worth it. Sitting outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    71
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
159
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed one night only and really wished we had stayed more. This is the place to stay , spacious very clean , well equipped unit with the most amazing sea views. The rooms just had the little added extras, which just it feel like home. The peace and quiet was just so relaxing. Leanne was an amazing host, made you feel at home, nothing was too much trouble and a really nice person. I want to be back there now!

The township of Coromandel was just around the corner and that is a a great place to look around. The meat from the butcher was fantastic, especially the smoked bacon.

Room Tip: Stay longer than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We pre-booked this place for 2 nights in November and feel we were misled by the advertising which said that all units had harbour views. We were put in the 'garden unit' which had no view, no window to open for ventilation, seems it had been a garage storeroom renovated. We thought that we were giving ourselves a treat but at the price it was an absolute rip-off. Even the units with views are very highly priced for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beryl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kayaks and bikes to hire when it was fine and books to read when it rained. Very comfy and spacious, great views and excellent hosts. We woke to the sound of birdsong and scent of jasmine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just round from Coromandel town we by chance discovered this hidden gem. Fabulous water views, surrounded by native bush and birds it was a place we were sorry to only stay one night. Leanne and Des were fantastic hosts, giving loads of local information, nothing was too much trouble. Unit was very spacious, well equipped and spotless. Will definitely return sooner than later for a longer time. Totally recommended for the peace and quiet alone.

Room Tip: All units are great as all have the views and private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The one bed rooms are spacious, well equipped, comfy and clean, and best of all they have a great view over the harbour from a very private balcony. Sitting out on the balcony with a riot of NZ vegetation below us, squabbling tuis and amazing views was bliss.

If you like a walk, following the track over the hill into town brings even more great views.

Leanne couldn't have been more helpful and overall the motel is great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I would definitely recommend this place as it has a lot going for it:
1. Fabulous location overlooking the harbour
2. Spacious well equipped and clean rooms, comfy beds, great cooking facilities, well positioned & private balconies, quiet location etc etc
3. Very helpful hosts (Leanne & Des) who gave us lots of local advice, lent us a spade to dig at the hot water beach, gave us towels for the spa and would have even lent us their kayak if we had of had the energy!

Room Tip: All the rooms have harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie-holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
13.0 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing